top of page

Why worry?

(01-18-22)– Spiritual Hindrances! –Matthew 13:37)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Being prepared for daily living is one thing; being prepared for eternal life another; do we treat both the same way?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



Few things bother me more than feeling unprepared. I guess it's a throwback to my days in college when I was taking a full slate of courses, working full-time, and, therefore, feeling unprepared. I remember getting home late from my job and cramming for an exam only hours away. It was an unfortunate mix of panic seasoned with hope. I made it through those four tough years but now, decades later, I still wake up from an occasional nightmare in a cold sweat having dreamed that I fell asleep cramming, my class was only minutes away and, of course, someone had stolen my car to boot. Being unprepared is something I try, therefore, to avoid at all costs. I use a daily calendar, always leave for my meetings and appointments with time to spare and even lay out my needed materials for the next day before I go to bed at night. You could say that I'm a bit of a fanatic when it comes to being prepared for whatever comes next in life.


Being prepared for daily living is one thing; being prepared for eternal life another; do we treat both the same way?


Here's a story: On Christmas Day 1776, Colonel Johann Gottlieb Rall was the commanding officer of the Hessian troops in Trenton, New Jersey. Allied with the British against the colonies, the German Hessian army in Trenton numbered 1,000 soldiers. Up to this time, the American rebels had shown themselves to be undisciplined in battle during the Revolution and had not won a single battle. Colonel Rall decided to allow his troops to enjoy Christmas and most of them drank too much during the festivities. The weather was very cold and there was sleet, hail, and ice. Rall thought the Continental Army was too weak to mount an attack. He was wrong. That night, General Washington took 500 men across the Delaware River and marched on the garrison at Trenton. The asleep and dazed Hessian Army never knew what over- powered them. Within 35 minutes the battle was over. The Continental Army used surprise as their greatest weapon to capture Trenton. (Author unknown. If anyone has a proprietary interest in this story please authenticate and I will be happy to credit, or remove, as the circumstances dictate.)


Is it possible that we as Christians have often fallen prey to a sort of spiritual lethargy similar to the smug feeling of those Hessian troops? In many cases we have not only stopped preparation for Judgment Day we've not given it much thought at all. Content in the knowledge that God takes care of things; that Jesus is above all things, and there is little we can do to change anything, like those Hessian troops, we make assumptions that could be deadly. It is true that God is in control and Jesus reigns supreme. It is also true that His authority requires our obedience. Obedience is an action not a passive happening. Don't worry about tomorrow but be prepared; preparation begins with obedience. Be watchful.


We pray. Heavenly Father, we are content in the knowledge that You take care of things; that Jesus is above all things, and there is little we can do to change anything. But like those Hessian troops, we make assumptions that could be deadly. Please forgive us Lord. It is true that You are in control and Jesus reigns supreme. It is also true that Your authority requires our obedience. Obedience is an action not a passive happening. Help us to not worry about tomorrow but be prepared; preparation begins with obedience. Help us to be watchful. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Why worry?

(01-18-22)– Spiritual Hindrances! –Matthew 13:37)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Being prepared for daily living is one thing; being prepared for eternal life another; do we treat both the same way?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



Few things bother me more than feeling unprepared. I guess it's a throwback to my days in college when I was taking a full slate of courses, working full-time, and, therefore, feeling unprepared. I remember getting home late from my job and cramming for an exam only hours away. It was an unfortunate mix of panic seasoned with hope. I made it through those four tough years but now, decades later, I still wake up from an occasional nightmare in a cold sweat having dreamed that I fell asleep cramming, my class was only minutes away and, of course, someone had stolen my car to boot. Being unprepared is something I try, therefore, to avoid at all costs. I use a daily calendar, always leave for my meetings and appointments with time to spare and even lay out my needed materials for the next day before I go to bed at night. You could say that I'm a bit of a fanatic when it comes to being prepared for whatever comes next in life.


Being prepared for daily living is one thing; being prepared for eternal life another; do we treat both the same way?


Here's a story: On Christmas Day 1776, Colonel Johann Gottlieb Rall was the commanding officer of the Hessian troops in Trenton, New Jersey. Allied with the British against the colonies, the German Hessian army in Trenton numbered 1,000 soldiers. Up to this time, the American rebels had shown themselves to be undisciplined in battle during the Revolution and had not won a single battle. Colonel Rall decided to allow his troops to enjoy Christmas and most of them drank too much during the festivities. The weather was very cold and there was sleet, hail, and ice. Rall thought the Continental Army was too weak to mount an attack. He was wrong. That night, General Washington took 500 men across the Delaware River and marched on the garrison at Trenton. The asleep and dazed Hessian Army never knew what over- powered them. Within 35 minutes the battle was over. The Continental Army used surprise as their greatest weapon to capture Trenton. (Author unknown. If anyone has a proprietary interest in this story please authenticate and I will be happy to credit, or remove, as the circumstances dictate.)


Is it possible that we as Christians have often fallen prey to a sort of spiritual lethargy similar to the smug feeling of those Hessian troops? In many cases we have not only stopped preparation for Judgment Day we've not given it much thought at all. Content in the knowledge that God takes care of things; that Jesus is above all things, and there is little we can do to change anything, like those Hessian troops, we make assumptions that could be deadly. It is true that God is in control and Jesus reigns supreme. It is also true that His authority requires our obedience. Obedience is an action not a passive happening. Don't worry about tomorrow but be prepared; preparation begins with obedience. Be watchful.


We pray. Heavenly Father, we are content in the knowledge that You take care of things; that Jesus is above all things, and there is little we can do to change anything. But like those Hessian troops, we make assumptions that could be deadly. Please forgive us Lord. It is true that You are in control and Jesus reigns supreme. It is also true that Your authority requires our obedience. Obedience is an action not a passive happening. Help us to not worry about tomorrow but be prepared; preparation begins with obedience. Help us to be watchful. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page