top of page

Who we are?



Who we are? Years ago, a guy in my office building recognized me but couldn’t place me. “Oh, you’re the guy with the Corvair!” he said. You know, the car with the engine in the back? I smiled and moved on. It felt good to be recognized, but I wondered: have I made an impact beyond my car? Is that what I wanted people to know me by?


Think about it. How sad it is when we are recognized by our things and not by the things we’ve done. Unfortunately, the more and more we get, the more these tend to become who we are. Even sadder, our sinful nature likes it that way.


God’s Word tells us: “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal (Matthew 6:19).”


Is it wrong for Christians to own or want things? No, as long as we see them as gifts from God. When we desire what God wants for us, we honor Him. I hope my smile and handshake leave a lasting impression, not just my Corvair. You know? You’re that Christian guy with that great car?


We pray: “Heavenly Father, help me cherish Your gifts and honor You with my desires. May my actions reflect Your love and light. May people know me by my character and not my things. Let my interactions leave a lasting impact, pointing others to You rather than earthly possessions. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Who we are?



Who we are? Years ago, a guy in my office building recognized me but couldn’t place me. “Oh, you’re the guy with the Corvair!” he said. You know, the car with the engine in the back? I smiled and moved on. It felt good to be recognized, but I wondered: have I made an impact beyond my car? Is that what I wanted people to know me by?


Think about it. How sad it is when we are recognized by our things and not by the things we’ve done. Unfortunately, the more and more we get, the more these tend to become who we are. Even sadder, our sinful nature likes it that way.


God’s Word tells us: “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal (Matthew 6:19).”


Is it wrong for Christians to own or want things? No, as long as we see them as gifts from God. When we desire what God wants for us, we honor Him. I hope my smile and handshake leave a lasting impression, not just my Corvair. You know? You’re that Christian guy with that great car?


We pray: “Heavenly Father, help me cherish Your gifts and honor You with my desires. May my actions reflect Your love and light. May people know me by my character and not my things. Let my interactions leave a lasting impact, pointing others to You rather than earthly possessions. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page