top of page

Walking on water?



Walking on water? Oftentimes it’s just good to think about that the process and not just the result. Getting to goals in our lives is in many ways far more important than reaching them. The work that generates our goals is what is really important.


Think about it. Process. The Bible tells us Jesus walked on the water. Where was He going? Was He headed to the other end of the lake? Did He have a particular end in sight or was He simply going on calmly toward an end that needed to be finished?


God’s Word tells us: “He saw the disciples straining at the oars, because the wind was against them. Shortly before dawn He went out to them, walking on the lake” (Mark 6:48b).”


I don’t believe He had a shoreline or goal in sight. He was just walking on water and doing it well. I believe that’s what God calls us to do every day, to continue with our lives with honesty, integrity and a will to finish well. It’s the process not the goals that’s important. In that sense every day is an opportunity to live life well, “walk on the water,” leaving the goals to God.


“Lord Jesus, please forgive my lack of faith. Increase my faith in Your Word, and help me to trust You enough to follow Your leading. When the circumstances around me threaten to pull me into deep waters of doubt, help me to focus on You. I ask these things in Your holy name. In Your name, Amen!”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


Walking on water?



Walking on water? Oftentimes it’s just good to think about that the process and not just the result. Getting to goals in our lives is in many ways far more important than reaching them. The work that generates our goals is what is really important.


Think about it. Process. The Bible tells us Jesus walked on the water. Where was He going? Was He headed to the other end of the lake? Did He have a particular end in sight or was He simply going on calmly toward an end that needed to be finished?


God’s Word tells us: “He saw the disciples straining at the oars, because the wind was against them. Shortly before dawn He went out to them, walking on the lake” (Mark 6:48b).”


I don’t believe He had a shoreline or goal in sight. He was just walking on water and doing it well. I believe that’s what God calls us to do every day, to continue with our lives with honesty, integrity and a will to finish well. It’s the process not the goals that’s important. In that sense every day is an opportunity to live life well, “walk on the water,” leaving the goals to God.


“Lord Jesus, please forgive my lack of faith. Increase my faith in Your Word, and help me to trust You enough to follow Your leading. When the circumstances around me threaten to pull me into deep waters of doubt, help me to focus on You. I ask these things in Your holy name. In Your name, Amen!”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


bottom of page