top of page

Up to armpits?

To our armpits? (11.11.21– Good Endings! –1 Samuel 14: 37-46)


My friend, may I ask you a question? When we put ourselves into situations where one error is compounded by another, can we easily risk discovery, embarrassment and humiliation?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



Here's a story from a friend of mine who, for obvious reasons, wishes to remain anonymous: "I was fifteen minutes late for my appointment and knew that it would be an embarrassment to admit that I had gotten up late. A deep sense of panic invaded my senses as I slipped into panic mode. I loosened my tie as the rush of adrenaline brought a sudden surge of body heat. How would I explain my poor timing? I really was trying to make a good impression on this client. As the traffic slowed menacingly in front of me, I began to rationalize my predicament. I retightened my tie. 'Why reveal my mistake?' I thought. 'I'll just make up a story he'll believe. He knows I have an older car. Tell him that you had car trouble and the delay was unavoidable. Yes, that would do.' What had been a worrisome problem emerged as a believable story that would save face and embarrassment. I arrived and thankfully my client didn't seem bothered. I set down my brief- case and, with a look of genuine concern, began to apologize for my late arrival. When I got to the part about the old car, a look of skepticism spread over his face. I followed his gaze as he looked out his office window where he had seen me pull up in my wife's late model car. Catching his gaze and discovering my error, I was quick to add that 'my car never made it out of the driveway this morning but that I had to switch cars before leaving.' He was quick to change the subject but it wasn't long before I was loosening my tie again as confidence began to crumble into guilt."


When we put ourselves into situations where one error is compounded by another, we easily risk discovery, embarrassment and humiliation. Saving face is something that every one of us is guilty of at some time in this life. And, saving face can often lead us into even more ridiculous situations that are even harder to get out of than the one that got us into it in the first place.


One mistake often leads to another, and then another. When we place a wall of "saving-face" between us and the often, difficult situations we find ourselves in, it's not only likely but probable that the end result will be the opposite of what we wish it to be. Trying to save face usually results in losing face. Mistakes are a funny thing. When we first make them they seem pretty deep and threatening. But, it's when we step into that mistake, committing ourselves to it rather than rejecting it in repentance, that we really find how deep a morass it is. Admitting we're wrong or mistaken in the first place is the best way of eliminating sinking up to our armpits in an embarrassing reality of our own choosing. It's always better to commit a mistake than to blunder into shame.


We pray. Heavenly Father, trying to save face usually results in losing face Lord. You have shown us in Your Word that when we first make them they seem pretty deep and threatening. But, it's when we step into that mistake, committing ourselves to it rather than rejecting it in repentance, that we really find how deep a mess we are in. Help us to admit we're wrong or mistaken in the first place and keep us from sinking up to our armpits in an embarrassing reality of our own choosing. It's always better to commit a mistake than to blunder into shame. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comentários


Up to armpits?

To our armpits? (11.11.21– Good Endings! –1 Samuel 14: 37-46)


My friend, may I ask you a question? When we put ourselves into situations where one error is compounded by another, can we easily risk discovery, embarrassment and humiliation?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



Here's a story from a friend of mine who, for obvious reasons, wishes to remain anonymous: "I was fifteen minutes late for my appointment and knew that it would be an embarrassment to admit that I had gotten up late. A deep sense of panic invaded my senses as I slipped into panic mode. I loosened my tie as the rush of adrenaline brought a sudden surge of body heat. How would I explain my poor timing? I really was trying to make a good impression on this client. As the traffic slowed menacingly in front of me, I began to rationalize my predicament. I retightened my tie. 'Why reveal my mistake?' I thought. 'I'll just make up a story he'll believe. He knows I have an older car. Tell him that you had car trouble and the delay was unavoidable. Yes, that would do.' What had been a worrisome problem emerged as a believable story that would save face and embarrassment. I arrived and thankfully my client didn't seem bothered. I set down my brief- case and, with a look of genuine concern, began to apologize for my late arrival. When I got to the part about the old car, a look of skepticism spread over his face. I followed his gaze as he looked out his office window where he had seen me pull up in my wife's late model car. Catching his gaze and discovering my error, I was quick to add that 'my car never made it out of the driveway this morning but that I had to switch cars before leaving.' He was quick to change the subject but it wasn't long before I was loosening my tie again as confidence began to crumble into guilt."


When we put ourselves into situations where one error is compounded by another, we easily risk discovery, embarrassment and humiliation. Saving face is something that every one of us is guilty of at some time in this life. And, saving face can often lead us into even more ridiculous situations that are even harder to get out of than the one that got us into it in the first place.


One mistake often leads to another, and then another. When we place a wall of "saving-face" between us and the often, difficult situations we find ourselves in, it's not only likely but probable that the end result will be the opposite of what we wish it to be. Trying to save face usually results in losing face. Mistakes are a funny thing. When we first make them they seem pretty deep and threatening. But, it's when we step into that mistake, committing ourselves to it rather than rejecting it in repentance, that we really find how deep a morass it is. Admitting we're wrong or mistaken in the first place is the best way of eliminating sinking up to our armpits in an embarrassing reality of our own choosing. It's always better to commit a mistake than to blunder into shame.


We pray. Heavenly Father, trying to save face usually results in losing face Lord. You have shown us in Your Word that when we first make them they seem pretty deep and threatening. But, it's when we step into that mistake, committing ourselves to it rather than rejecting it in repentance, that we really find how deep a mess we are in. Help us to admit we're wrong or mistaken in the first place and keep us from sinking up to our armpits in an embarrassing reality of our own choosing. It's always better to commit a mistake than to blunder into shame. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comentários


bottom of page