top of page

Unintended consequences?



Unintended consequences? Have you heard of the law of unintended consequences? Last winter, while roof raking, I lifted my rake and caught an ice dam. The rake got stuck, and when I yanked it, the ice broke loose. A massive load of snow and ice fell, hitting me in the chest, knocking the wind out of me.


Think about it. It’s often like that when we find ourselves on the other end of a stubborn argument. We don’t intend to let it get out of hand, that was never the goal; but a chunk of unseen stubbornness or pent-up anger suddenly and someone ends up getting hurt.


God’s Word tells us: “Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you (Ephesians 4:31-32).”


Is anger ever worth it? It’s often destructive, leaving you empty and guilty. If you’re angry, share it with God and ask Him to help you manage it and forgive. Peace will settle in your heart. Anger often leads to unintended consequences. Most conflicts are better left alone.


We pray: “Heavenly Father, help me release all bitterness, rage, and anger. Fill my heart with kindness and compassion for everyone. Teach me to forgive others as You have forgiven me through Christ. Guide me to find peace and reflect Your love in my actions. In Jesus Christ name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Unintended consequences?



Unintended consequences? Have you heard of the law of unintended consequences? Last winter, while roof raking, I lifted my rake and caught an ice dam. The rake got stuck, and when I yanked it, the ice broke loose. A massive load of snow and ice fell, hitting me in the chest, knocking the wind out of me.


Think about it. It’s often like that when we find ourselves on the other end of a stubborn argument. We don’t intend to let it get out of hand, that was never the goal; but a chunk of unseen stubbornness or pent-up anger suddenly and someone ends up getting hurt.


God’s Word tells us: “Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you (Ephesians 4:31-32).”


Is anger ever worth it? It’s often destructive, leaving you empty and guilty. If you’re angry, share it with God and ask Him to help you manage it and forgive. Peace will settle in your heart. Anger often leads to unintended consequences. Most conflicts are better left alone.


We pray: “Heavenly Father, help me release all bitterness, rage, and anger. Fill my heart with kindness and compassion for everyone. Teach me to forgive others as You have forgiven me through Christ. Guide me to find peace and reflect Your love in my actions. In Jesus Christ name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page