top of page

Under rocks?

(06.16.21– Not My Fault! – Genesis 17:1)

My friend, may I ask you a question? Is making the effort to grow, despite obstacles or the most extreme circumstances, what opportunity is all about?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




What does it mean to be opportunistic? I think I know the meaning a bit clearer today than yesterday. I did some weed killing over this past weekend. I got out my weed sprayer and started walking around the various places bordering our driveway where the weeds have encroached. I came upon a small tuft of grass, green and stout, that had planted itself in a little gully between two smooth rocks. As I leveled my sprayer over the little tuft I was suddenly struck by how difficult a situation it had and how well it had done. For some reason, I let that little tuft go. It just didn't seem fair to kill it after all it had done to survive.


Making the effort to grow, despite obstacles or the most extreme circumstances, is what opportunity is all about.


A thought from Bob Perks: Recently I moved a rock that somehow ended up in the garden because it had landed on a spot where a flower grew each year. When I lifted the rock, I found the flower had grown around in a zigzag design until it finally found its way out. That flower could only do one thing. It had to grow. It was being all that it was designed to be. It was becoming what it was created to be. There was no great battle between it and the rock. It simply responded by finding a way to complete its predestined journey. It completed itself instead of lying there defeated by the rock. If God put such will and determination in a flower to complete its purpose, what powers would He give us? (Bob@BobPerks.com)

When things go wrong and events don't turn out the way we want them to, we need to remember how God designed you and I to be. Like that determined flower or that tuft of grass, looking for excuses why others have blocked our goals isn't what God is looking for. He created us to look beyond and around the "rocks" in life that may be taking up our space with their wrong opinions or even their misplaced blame. God didn't create you and I to be faultfinders. Faultfinders are happy living under rocks living in the shadow of those who harm them. Living under rocks, however, pretty much guarantees you'll never see the light of day, and the promise of hope and renewal that God gives to those who prefer the light of renewal and forgiveness to the darkness of bitterness and blame.


We pray. Heavenly Father, when things go wrong and events don't turn out the way we want them to, help us to remember how You designed us to be. When we look for excuses why others have blocked our goals forgive us Lord because we know that is not what You are looking for. You created us to look beyond and around the "rocks" in life that may be taking up our space with their wrong opinions or even their misplaced blame. You didn't create us to be faultfinders. When others fault us and make us feel bad, help us as well to see the light of day, and the promise of hope and renewal that You give when we grasp onto the light of renewal and forgiveness and lift ourselves out of the darkness of bitterness and blame. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Kommentare


Under rocks?

(06.16.21– Not My Fault! – Genesis 17:1)

My friend, may I ask you a question? Is making the effort to grow, despite obstacles or the most extreme circumstances, what opportunity is all about?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




What does it mean to be opportunistic? I think I know the meaning a bit clearer today than yesterday. I did some weed killing over this past weekend. I got out my weed sprayer and started walking around the various places bordering our driveway where the weeds have encroached. I came upon a small tuft of grass, green and stout, that had planted itself in a little gully between two smooth rocks. As I leveled my sprayer over the little tuft I was suddenly struck by how difficult a situation it had and how well it had done. For some reason, I let that little tuft go. It just didn't seem fair to kill it after all it had done to survive.


Making the effort to grow, despite obstacles or the most extreme circumstances, is what opportunity is all about.


A thought from Bob Perks: Recently I moved a rock that somehow ended up in the garden because it had landed on a spot where a flower grew each year. When I lifted the rock, I found the flower had grown around in a zigzag design until it finally found its way out. That flower could only do one thing. It had to grow. It was being all that it was designed to be. It was becoming what it was created to be. There was no great battle between it and the rock. It simply responded by finding a way to complete its predestined journey. It completed itself instead of lying there defeated by the rock. If God put such will and determination in a flower to complete its purpose, what powers would He give us? (Bob@BobPerks.com)

When things go wrong and events don't turn out the way we want them to, we need to remember how God designed you and I to be. Like that determined flower or that tuft of grass, looking for excuses why others have blocked our goals isn't what God is looking for. He created us to look beyond and around the "rocks" in life that may be taking up our space with their wrong opinions or even their misplaced blame. God didn't create you and I to be faultfinders. Faultfinders are happy living under rocks living in the shadow of those who harm them. Living under rocks, however, pretty much guarantees you'll never see the light of day, and the promise of hope and renewal that God gives to those who prefer the light of renewal and forgiveness to the darkness of bitterness and blame.


We pray. Heavenly Father, when things go wrong and events don't turn out the way we want them to, help us to remember how You designed us to be. When we look for excuses why others have blocked our goals forgive us Lord because we know that is not what You are looking for. You created us to look beyond and around the "rocks" in life that may be taking up our space with their wrong opinions or even their misplaced blame. You didn't create us to be faultfinders. When others fault us and make us feel bad, help us as well to see the light of day, and the promise of hope and renewal that You give when we grasp onto the light of renewal and forgiveness and lift ourselves out of the darkness of bitterness and blame. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Kommentare


bottom of page