top of page

Treasures in heaven?



Treasures in heaven? I regularly set calendar pop-ups with Henry Van Dyke’s adage: "What you possess in the world will belong to someone else after your death, but what you ARE will be yours forever." This reminds me that possessions like my home and money can end up possessing us, urging us to prioritize caretaking over owning.


Think about it. Do our possessions possess us; perhaps the reason we are constantly struggling with care taking and possessing us is because we have this innate fear that what we care for isn’t safe unless we own it?


God’s Word tells us: “But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal (Matthew 6:19-21).”


We place what we care for in our hearts, believing it safe. Yet, hearts are insecure, often broken, leading us astray, and becoming bankrupt in hard times. The heart is not a safe bank box but a holding area needing daily emptying. Drop “my” and “mine” when speaking of what you care for. Empty your heart daily. What you are is lasting; what you have will pass away.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, Grant me wisdom to discern between possessions and caretaking. Help me release what tries to possess my heart, focusing on the eternal. May I cherish qualities that reflect Your love, serving others selflessly, and find true security in You alone.  In Jesus Christ name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comentarios


Treasures in heaven?



Treasures in heaven? I regularly set calendar pop-ups with Henry Van Dyke’s adage: "What you possess in the world will belong to someone else after your death, but what you ARE will be yours forever." This reminds me that possessions like my home and money can end up possessing us, urging us to prioritize caretaking over owning.


Think about it. Do our possessions possess us; perhaps the reason we are constantly struggling with care taking and possessing us is because we have this innate fear that what we care for isn’t safe unless we own it?


God’s Word tells us: “But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal (Matthew 6:19-21).”


We place what we care for in our hearts, believing it safe. Yet, hearts are insecure, often broken, leading us astray, and becoming bankrupt in hard times. The heart is not a safe bank box but a holding area needing daily emptying. Drop “my” and “mine” when speaking of what you care for. Empty your heart daily. What you are is lasting; what you have will pass away.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, Grant me wisdom to discern between possessions and caretaking. Help me release what tries to possess my heart, focusing on the eternal. May I cherish qualities that reflect Your love, serving others selflessly, and find true security in You alone.  In Jesus Christ name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comentarios


bottom of page