top of page

Trashing the stress?



Trashing the stress? "Just one more day," I thought, peering into the garage trash barrel, three-quarters full. It seemed wasteful to haul it out now, so I decided to wait. That evening, as Holly and I got into the truck, a foul odor filled the garage. The trash had begun to smell, and Holly’s look told me I’d waited too long. I burned the trash that night, but the smell lingered the next morning.  

                                                            

Think about it. When we entertain stress, it seems that despite adding a little bit every day to the pile, we’re always able to rationalize that we still have time to get rid of it.


God’s Word: "But I will restore you to health and heal your wounds,’declares the Lord,‘because you are called an outcast, Zion for whom no one cares’ (Jeremiah:30:17).”


God promises that when we’re down and pressed hard by life’s heaviness, “(He) will restore (us) to health and heal (our) wounds” (Jeremiah 30:17). That is if we’re willing. When we hang on to stress it acts like an anchor that just won’t let go. Since it’s not God’s nature or will to drag us kicking and pulling, if we don’t let go, His help may be just out of reach. The time to remove the trash of stress in your life is today. Hanging on to it only makes it stink that much more.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, grant me wisdom in managing daily tasks and avoiding procrastination. Help me act timely and maintain order in our space. Fill our home with your peace, and guide me to manage responsibilities well, keeping burdens and unpleasantness at bay. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.                               Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Коментарі


Trashing the stress?



Trashing the stress? "Just one more day," I thought, peering into the garage trash barrel, three-quarters full. It seemed wasteful to haul it out now, so I decided to wait. That evening, as Holly and I got into the truck, a foul odor filled the garage. The trash had begun to smell, and Holly’s look told me I’d waited too long. I burned the trash that night, but the smell lingered the next morning.  

                                                            

Think about it. When we entertain stress, it seems that despite adding a little bit every day to the pile, we’re always able to rationalize that we still have time to get rid of it.


God’s Word: "But I will restore you to health and heal your wounds,’declares the Lord,‘because you are called an outcast, Zion for whom no one cares’ (Jeremiah:30:17).”


God promises that when we’re down and pressed hard by life’s heaviness, “(He) will restore (us) to health and heal (our) wounds” (Jeremiah 30:17). That is if we’re willing. When we hang on to stress it acts like an anchor that just won’t let go. Since it’s not God’s nature or will to drag us kicking and pulling, if we don’t let go, His help may be just out of reach. The time to remove the trash of stress in your life is today. Hanging on to it only makes it stink that much more.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, grant me wisdom in managing daily tasks and avoiding procrastination. Help me act timely and maintain order in our space. Fill our home with your peace, and guide me to manage responsibilities well, keeping burdens and unpleasantness at bay. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.                               Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Коментарі


bottom of page