top of page

Tomorrow?

(01-03-22)– Starting Out Right! –Leviticus 5:4)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Are looking peace in the coming year, the peace that only a contented heart and spirit can provide, maybe the first thing you need to do is remove all the distractions that have come between you and God.?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



A New Year; now what? What's the first thing you and I ought to be doing as we gaze out upon a brand New Year? I've given this a lot of thought and have come up with something that may be a little surprising to most; I believe that perhaps the most important thing to do is to find some time inside this day and every day following to be alone in a quiet place. We live in a very noisy world that is distracting at the very least and often quite alluring. The "noise" of life is probably the biggest reason why we may feel we're walking through life aimlessly, without spiritual purpose or direction. Perhaps if you and I could find 15 minutes, even 10, every day to be completely "tuned out" of all the media, all ambient back- ground of life, we might find ourselves tuned into God on a frequency totally devoid of all of life's interference.


Here's a thought from an unknown writer: "In early evening in the soft, warm, breath of the dimming sun, I stood alone lost in thoughts of "might-have-beens" and "should-have-dones." Thinking not just of yesterdays, but what I might face tomorrow. I need more time. Scanning the horizon I begged the sun for one more hour. I was angry. The world around me, once deafening from heavy rush hour traffic and children playing nearby, became suddenly silent. "Have I lost my mind?" I thought. The world was standing still. "Quietly, still." What could this mean? "You're trying too hard to control your life." "How? Who are you?" "You were wanting to change the things that were and control what will be. There will be days of sun and days of darkness. You can no more control the darkest hours of your life than you can push away the clouds. Close your eyes." I did. "What do you see?" "Nothing!" I replied in frustration. "There's your problem. In darkness you must see the light. In silence you must hear the light." "Is that why the world stood still?" "It did not. You did. The peace you seek is not in the hurry of your day, but in the quiet, stillness." As I turned to my house, I caught the faint, presence of the rising moon. "Light in the darkness," I whispered. "Quietly, still," the voice echoed. "Quietly, still! Who are you?" I said, eyes closed. "Oh, thank you, God," I said. "I can see the Light." (Source unknown.)

If you are looking peace in the coming year, the peace that only a contented heart and spirit can provide, the first thing you need to do is remove all the distractions that have come between you and God. You may be resolved to a better prayer life, more time spent in worship or the cultivation of new, rewarding friendships; all good resolutions. But, without a quiet time spent alone with God, patiently listening for His voice, these are all undermined. Noise is the enemy of the soul. Quiet is its nurture. Seek that quiet time today. Make it the priority of this New Year. All else will follow.

We pray. Heavenly Father, we are looking for peace in the coming year, the peace that only a contented heart and spirit can provide, the first thing we need to do is remove all the distractions that have come between us and You. Help us dear Lord to find a better prayer life this year, to spend more time in worship. Help us to find a quiet time to spend alone with You our God, patiently listening for Your voice, these are all undermined. Noise is the enemy of the soul. Quiet is its nurture. Help us to seek that quiet time today. Make it the priority of this New Year. All else will follow. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


Tomorrow?

(01-03-22)– Starting Out Right! –Leviticus 5:4)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Are looking peace in the coming year, the peace that only a contented heart and spirit can provide, maybe the first thing you need to do is remove all the distractions that have come between you and God.?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



A New Year; now what? What's the first thing you and I ought to be doing as we gaze out upon a brand New Year? I've given this a lot of thought and have come up with something that may be a little surprising to most; I believe that perhaps the most important thing to do is to find some time inside this day and every day following to be alone in a quiet place. We live in a very noisy world that is distracting at the very least and often quite alluring. The "noise" of life is probably the biggest reason why we may feel we're walking through life aimlessly, without spiritual purpose or direction. Perhaps if you and I could find 15 minutes, even 10, every day to be completely "tuned out" of all the media, all ambient back- ground of life, we might find ourselves tuned into God on a frequency totally devoid of all of life's interference.


Here's a thought from an unknown writer: "In early evening in the soft, warm, breath of the dimming sun, I stood alone lost in thoughts of "might-have-beens" and "should-have-dones." Thinking not just of yesterdays, but what I might face tomorrow. I need more time. Scanning the horizon I begged the sun for one more hour. I was angry. The world around me, once deafening from heavy rush hour traffic and children playing nearby, became suddenly silent. "Have I lost my mind?" I thought. The world was standing still. "Quietly, still." What could this mean? "You're trying too hard to control your life." "How? Who are you?" "You were wanting to change the things that were and control what will be. There will be days of sun and days of darkness. You can no more control the darkest hours of your life than you can push away the clouds. Close your eyes." I did. "What do you see?" "Nothing!" I replied in frustration. "There's your problem. In darkness you must see the light. In silence you must hear the light." "Is that why the world stood still?" "It did not. You did. The peace you seek is not in the hurry of your day, but in the quiet, stillness." As I turned to my house, I caught the faint, presence of the rising moon. "Light in the darkness," I whispered. "Quietly, still," the voice echoed. "Quietly, still! Who are you?" I said, eyes closed. "Oh, thank you, God," I said. "I can see the Light." (Source unknown.)

If you are looking peace in the coming year, the peace that only a contented heart and spirit can provide, the first thing you need to do is remove all the distractions that have come between you and God. You may be resolved to a better prayer life, more time spent in worship or the cultivation of new, rewarding friendships; all good resolutions. But, without a quiet time spent alone with God, patiently listening for His voice, these are all undermined. Noise is the enemy of the soul. Quiet is its nurture. Seek that quiet time today. Make it the priority of this New Year. All else will follow.

We pray. Heavenly Father, we are looking for peace in the coming year, the peace that only a contented heart and spirit can provide, the first thing we need to do is remove all the distractions that have come between us and You. Help us dear Lord to find a better prayer life this year, to spend more time in worship. Help us to find a quiet time to spend alone with You our God, patiently listening for Your voice, these are all undermined. Noise is the enemy of the soul. Quiet is its nurture. Help us to seek that quiet time today. Make it the priority of this New Year. All else will follow. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


bottom of page