top of page

The tie that binds?

01.07.21.—Assurance!—Romans 8:38



My friend, may I ask you a question? When we are reminded that Christ is “able” to save us, no matter what, is it faith that keeps us from walking into the night when we should be staying put waiting on Him?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner





One of the worst feelings in life has been the feeling of abandonment. I remember years ago waiting at school for my dad to pick me up after a basketball game. It was getting dark and I was miles from home. By nature, worrier that I am, the “where is he?” instinct kicked in pretty quickly for a kid who always lived by timing. He said he would be there and I had to trust that. But, he wasn’t there and it wasn’t long before I began to feel abandoned. I could have started to walk home. But, he said he would come and, despite my inner feelings, I just had to believe he would come. It was a matter of faith over feeling.


The apostle Paul was bothered by similar feelings. Yet he wrote: “I know this Christ who dwells in me, and I live in Him. And I am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.” Faith! It overcomes through assurance all of our fears.


Here’s a story: One afternoon a man went to visit a sick man. Since the man was near death and he a Christian, he asked if he was a Christian. “I am.” the man said. “What church do you belong to?” said he. “I belong to the church of Christ.” “Yes I know, but what persuasion are you of?” “Well, I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, shall be able to separate me from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Albert P. Graves)


I think that is about the same kind of persuasion that the apostle had in mind here when he said, “I am persuaded that He is able.” That is, Jesus is able “to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.” We are surrounded, to be sure, by unseen powers of evil; that creepy feeling that made me feel abandoned when my dad didn’t show up on time. But when we are reminded that Christ is “able” to save us, no matter what, it is faith that keeps us from walking into the night when we should be staying put waiting on Him. This is a Christian’s most blessed assurance.

We pray. Heavenly Father. With the Apostle we are blessed to be able to say, “I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, shall be able to separate me from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Thank You Lord because You have made it possible for Jesus “to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.” We are surrounded, to be sure, by unseen powers of evil; that creepy feeling that sometimes makes us feel abandoned. But when we are reminded that Christ is “able” to save us, no matter what, it is faith that keeps us from walking into the night when we should be staying put waiting on Him. Forgive us Father when we forget this basic and central truth of Your Word. This is a Christian’s most blessed assurance. We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

コメント


The tie that binds?

01.07.21.—Assurance!—Romans 8:38



My friend, may I ask you a question? When we are reminded that Christ is “able” to save us, no matter what, is it faith that keeps us from walking into the night when we should be staying put waiting on Him?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner





One of the worst feelings in life has been the feeling of abandonment. I remember years ago waiting at school for my dad to pick me up after a basketball game. It was getting dark and I was miles from home. By nature, worrier that I am, the “where is he?” instinct kicked in pretty quickly for a kid who always lived by timing. He said he would be there and I had to trust that. But, he wasn’t there and it wasn’t long before I began to feel abandoned. I could have started to walk home. But, he said he would come and, despite my inner feelings, I just had to believe he would come. It was a matter of faith over feeling.


The apostle Paul was bothered by similar feelings. Yet he wrote: “I know this Christ who dwells in me, and I live in Him. And I am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.” Faith! It overcomes through assurance all of our fears.


Here’s a story: One afternoon a man went to visit a sick man. Since the man was near death and he a Christian, he asked if he was a Christian. “I am.” the man said. “What church do you belong to?” said he. “I belong to the church of Christ.” “Yes I know, but what persuasion are you of?” “Well, I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, shall be able to separate me from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Albert P. Graves)


I think that is about the same kind of persuasion that the apostle had in mind here when he said, “I am persuaded that He is able.” That is, Jesus is able “to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.” We are surrounded, to be sure, by unseen powers of evil; that creepy feeling that made me feel abandoned when my dad didn’t show up on time. But when we are reminded that Christ is “able” to save us, no matter what, it is faith that keeps us from walking into the night when we should be staying put waiting on Him. This is a Christian’s most blessed assurance.

We pray. Heavenly Father. With the Apostle we are blessed to be able to say, “I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, shall be able to separate me from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Thank You Lord because You have made it possible for Jesus “to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day.” We are surrounded, to be sure, by unseen powers of evil; that creepy feeling that sometimes makes us feel abandoned. But when we are reminded that Christ is “able” to save us, no matter what, it is faith that keeps us from walking into the night when we should be staying put waiting on Him. Forgive us Father when we forget this basic and central truth of Your Word. This is a Christian’s most blessed assurance. We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

コメント


bottom of page