top of page

The tamer?

(11.20.20—Christian Choices – Philippians 4:13)




My friend, may I ask you a question? With the knowledge that Christ stands at our side, ready to tame all the fears that we might have, should we take courage today to do something for God that we’ve been hesitant to do.


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner?





Like most of you, there have been things in my life that I’m often hesitant to do. For some it’s public speaking; and others it might be taking a test or entering a talent contest. For me it’s always been a hesitancy to fix things. I’m always concerned that my repair jobs might not measure up. Measuring up to someone else’s standard is the reason most of us might be hesitant to attempt the new or the untested. Fear of failure often motivates us not to be motivated at all. But, when it comes to standing up for what is right, how can we allow ourselves to be hesitant?


Here’s a story: A first grade teacher seated her students in a circle. She asked them what they wanted to be when they grew up. One by one, each child got up and announced, “I’d like to be a nurse like my mother,” or “I want to be a banker like my father,” or “I want to be a teacher like you, Miss Smith.” The last child to speak was the most shy and timid little boy in the class. He said, “When I get big, I’m going to be a lion tamer in the circus. I’m going to face those animals with my whip and chair and make them leap through hoops of fire and obey all of my commands.” Seeing the disbeliev- ing looks on their faces that he could ever act so boldly or bravely, he was quick to reassure them. He stood up again and boldly stated: “Well, of course, I couldn’t do it all alone. I’ll have my mother with me.” (Alan Smith)


How like that little boy we are sometimes. We are sometimes shy and timid about standing up for Christ in the midst of an immoral society. We keep quiet when we ought to speak up. Yet, deep down inside each of us is that spark of courage that causes us to stand up and make a statement about our faith instead of cowering when we ought to take a stand. Where do we get the inner strength to be bold and brave? In a sense it’s like that little boy’s confidence in his mom. Only, instead of our mom, it’s through the assurance that we have Christ by our side. The Bible tells us that we “. . . can do all things through Christ who strengthens (us).” (Phil. 4:13). With that knowledge, take courage today to do something for God that you’ve been hesitant to do. Often taming the “lions” in our lives is nothing more than making sure that there is an honest-to-goodness, trained lion tamer standing next to us all the time. And, when you think about it, there is!


We pray. Heavenly Father. We praise You that it’s through the assurance that we have Christ by our side we are able to deal with the problems and challenges that often face us in this life. Your Word tells us that we “. . . can do all things through Christ who strengthens (us).” (Phil. 4:13). With that knowledge, help us to take courage today to do something for You that we’ve been hesitant to do–taming the troubles in our lives. Forgive us Father when we try to do this on our own without Your aid, because we know that taming the “lions” in our lives is nothing more than making sure that there is an honest-to-goodness, trained lion tamer standing next to us all the time. Thank You for giving us a Savior who can tame any fear, any trial in this life that besets us! We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


The tamer?

(11.20.20—Christian Choices – Philippians 4:13)




My friend, may I ask you a question? With the knowledge that Christ stands at our side, ready to tame all the fears that we might have, should we take courage today to do something for God that we’ve been hesitant to do.


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner?





Like most of you, there have been things in my life that I’m often hesitant to do. For some it’s public speaking; and others it might be taking a test or entering a talent contest. For me it’s always been a hesitancy to fix things. I’m always concerned that my repair jobs might not measure up. Measuring up to someone else’s standard is the reason most of us might be hesitant to attempt the new or the untested. Fear of failure often motivates us not to be motivated at all. But, when it comes to standing up for what is right, how can we allow ourselves to be hesitant?


Here’s a story: A first grade teacher seated her students in a circle. She asked them what they wanted to be when they grew up. One by one, each child got up and announced, “I’d like to be a nurse like my mother,” or “I want to be a banker like my father,” or “I want to be a teacher like you, Miss Smith.” The last child to speak was the most shy and timid little boy in the class. He said, “When I get big, I’m going to be a lion tamer in the circus. I’m going to face those animals with my whip and chair and make them leap through hoops of fire and obey all of my commands.” Seeing the disbeliev- ing looks on their faces that he could ever act so boldly or bravely, he was quick to reassure them. He stood up again and boldly stated: “Well, of course, I couldn’t do it all alone. I’ll have my mother with me.” (Alan Smith)


How like that little boy we are sometimes. We are sometimes shy and timid about standing up for Christ in the midst of an immoral society. We keep quiet when we ought to speak up. Yet, deep down inside each of us is that spark of courage that causes us to stand up and make a statement about our faith instead of cowering when we ought to take a stand. Where do we get the inner strength to be bold and brave? In a sense it’s like that little boy’s confidence in his mom. Only, instead of our mom, it’s through the assurance that we have Christ by our side. The Bible tells us that we “. . . can do all things through Christ who strengthens (us).” (Phil. 4:13). With that knowledge, take courage today to do something for God that you’ve been hesitant to do. Often taming the “lions” in our lives is nothing more than making sure that there is an honest-to-goodness, trained lion tamer standing next to us all the time. And, when you think about it, there is!


We pray. Heavenly Father. We praise You that it’s through the assurance that we have Christ by our side we are able to deal with the problems and challenges that often face us in this life. Your Word tells us that we “. . . can do all things through Christ who strengthens (us).” (Phil. 4:13). With that knowledge, help us to take courage today to do something for You that we’ve been hesitant to do–taming the troubles in our lives. Forgive us Father when we try to do this on our own without Your aid, because we know that taming the “lions” in our lives is nothing more than making sure that there is an honest-to-goodness, trained lion tamer standing next to us all the time. Thank You for giving us a Savior who can tame any fear, any trial in this life that besets us! We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page