top of page

Step aside?

11.30.20—Taking The I Out of Me! – Micah 6:8



My friend, may I ask you a question? Does being able to Go crown-less at times comes in handy; especially when it becomes time for others to shine and us to diminish?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner





Having been a father for many years, I’ve learned over time that my status as Dad has changed as my children matured, left the nest and assumed parenthood on their own. I remember when little Dan, my son, was three years old and I towered over him with my six-foot plus frame. I was the king in his life for a time. But as years pass and Dan now towers over me, the crown of fatherhood took on a necessary tarnish. I made no mistakes when Dan was three. Funny how that changed as he got older. I’ve come to accept his changing gaze; that skepticism that I read in his eyes. I’ve also gotten use to holding my crown in hand more often than not.

Growing older can be humbling. Going crown-less, however, comes in handy sometimes; especially when it comes time for others to shine and you to diminish.


Here’s a story: At a reception honoring the famous, English musician Sir Robert Mayer on his 100th birthday, many of the rich and famous London crowd were in attendance. One such personage, the elderly British socialite Lady Diana Cooper, fell into conversation with a friendly woman who seemed to know her well. Lady Diana’s failing eyesight pre- vented her from recognizing her fellow guest, until she peered more closely and realized she was talking to Queen Elizabeth! Overcome with embarrassment, Lady Diana curtsied and stammered, “Ma’am, oh, ma’am, I‘m sorry ma’am. I didn’t recognize you without your crown!” The queen touched her shoulder gently and smiled. “Not at all, Lady Diana. It was so much Sir Robert’s evening,” the queen replied, “that I decided to leave the crown behind.” (Today in the Word, April 3, 1992.)


You and I shine in many ways. Perhaps God has given you some special skill or status. Humility doesn’t mean you need to think less of yourself than of other people, nor have a low opinion of your skills or status. It simply means freedom from thinking about yourself one way or the other. It means that if you wear a crown of skill or honor, keep watch for those times when others need to shine and you need to fade. Stepping aside to give others their chance to be recognized is God’s way of keeping you and I humble; able to wear the crown AND share the crown. That’s true humility in Christ!


We pray. Heavenly Father. Thank You that we shine in many ways and You have given us some special skill or status in life to make that shining possible. But that doesn’t mean Lord that we need to think less of ourselves than of other people, nor have a low opinion of our skills or status. Help us by Your Spirit to know that It simply means freedom from thinking about ourself one way or the other. It means that if we wear a crown of skill or honor, we need to keep watch for those times when others need to shine and we need to fade. Forgive us when we omit to do this Lord. Stepping aside to give others their chance to be recognized is Your way of keeping us humble; able to wear the crown AND share the crown. That’s true humility in Christ! We pray this in His name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Step aside?

11.30.20—Taking The I Out of Me! – Micah 6:8



My friend, may I ask you a question? Does being able to Go crown-less at times comes in handy; especially when it becomes time for others to shine and us to diminish?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner





Having been a father for many years, I’ve learned over time that my status as Dad has changed as my children matured, left the nest and assumed parenthood on their own. I remember when little Dan, my son, was three years old and I towered over him with my six-foot plus frame. I was the king in his life for a time. But as years pass and Dan now towers over me, the crown of fatherhood took on a necessary tarnish. I made no mistakes when Dan was three. Funny how that changed as he got older. I’ve come to accept his changing gaze; that skepticism that I read in his eyes. I’ve also gotten use to holding my crown in hand more often than not.

Growing older can be humbling. Going crown-less, however, comes in handy sometimes; especially when it comes time for others to shine and you to diminish.


Here’s a story: At a reception honoring the famous, English musician Sir Robert Mayer on his 100th birthday, many of the rich and famous London crowd were in attendance. One such personage, the elderly British socialite Lady Diana Cooper, fell into conversation with a friendly woman who seemed to know her well. Lady Diana’s failing eyesight pre- vented her from recognizing her fellow guest, until she peered more closely and realized she was talking to Queen Elizabeth! Overcome with embarrassment, Lady Diana curtsied and stammered, “Ma’am, oh, ma’am, I‘m sorry ma’am. I didn’t recognize you without your crown!” The queen touched her shoulder gently and smiled. “Not at all, Lady Diana. It was so much Sir Robert’s evening,” the queen replied, “that I decided to leave the crown behind.” (Today in the Word, April 3, 1992.)


You and I shine in many ways. Perhaps God has given you some special skill or status. Humility doesn’t mean you need to think less of yourself than of other people, nor have a low opinion of your skills or status. It simply means freedom from thinking about yourself one way or the other. It means that if you wear a crown of skill or honor, keep watch for those times when others need to shine and you need to fade. Stepping aside to give others their chance to be recognized is God’s way of keeping you and I humble; able to wear the crown AND share the crown. That’s true humility in Christ!


We pray. Heavenly Father. Thank You that we shine in many ways and You have given us some special skill or status in life to make that shining possible. But that doesn’t mean Lord that we need to think less of ourselves than of other people, nor have a low opinion of our skills or status. Help us by Your Spirit to know that It simply means freedom from thinking about ourself one way or the other. It means that if we wear a crown of skill or honor, we need to keep watch for those times when others need to shine and we need to fade. Forgive us when we omit to do this Lord. Stepping aside to give others their chance to be recognized is Your way of keeping us humble; able to wear the crown AND share the crown. That’s true humility in Christ! We pray this in His name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page