top of page

Standing and watching?





Standing and watching? When it comes to faith, are you in the battle to make a difference or just complain about the bad guys? When we’re finished making our opinions known or just shrugging, we need to ask what we’re going to do about it. Unfortunately we often look at faith battles and ask, “What can I do? What difference would it make if I got involved?”  


Think about it. Standing and watching seems to be the national pastime of many Christians these days. We want things to change but are always telling ourselves that we aren’t the ones to initiate the changes.

   

God’s Word tells us: “But Zacchaeus stood up and said to the Lord, ‘Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out.’ (Luke 19:8).


True faith is really all about change, a change of heart on the inside demonstrated by a change of life on the outside. One motivates the other. It’s not enough to follow Jesus in your heart alone. You and I need to show we belong to Jesus by the way we live our lives outwardly. True faith always results in action. Standing and watching is never an option for a people blessed by God.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, thank you for the joy your salvation brings. I praise you for the joy and hope my salvation has brought to me. Please empower me with your Spirit to produce the fruit of repentance, a life that blesses others and brings glory to you.  In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own”

 (Matthew 6:34)www.thispassingday.com

Comments


Standing and watching?





Standing and watching? When it comes to faith, are you in the battle to make a difference or just complain about the bad guys? When we’re finished making our opinions known or just shrugging, we need to ask what we’re going to do about it. Unfortunately we often look at faith battles and ask, “What can I do? What difference would it make if I got involved?”  


Think about it. Standing and watching seems to be the national pastime of many Christians these days. We want things to change but are always telling ourselves that we aren’t the ones to initiate the changes.

   

God’s Word tells us: “But Zacchaeus stood up and said to the Lord, ‘Look, Lord! Here and now I give half of my possessions to the poor, and if I have cheated anybody out.’ (Luke 19:8).


True faith is really all about change, a change of heart on the inside demonstrated by a change of life on the outside. One motivates the other. It’s not enough to follow Jesus in your heart alone. You and I need to show we belong to Jesus by the way we live our lives outwardly. True faith always results in action. Standing and watching is never an option for a people blessed by God.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, thank you for the joy your salvation brings. I praise you for the joy and hope my salvation has brought to me. Please empower me with your Spirit to produce the fruit of repentance, a life that blesses others and brings glory to you.  In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own”

 (Matthew 6:34)www.thispassingday.com

Comments


bottom of page