top of page

Soaring?




Not merely flying? Are you someone or somebody? Someone implies a singular purpose, an identity of uniqueness. Somebody leaves us with the sense that we might be just one of a nameless mass of others. What does God want you and I to be––someone or somebody?


Think about it. Is God content with a whole bunch of sameness or does God have something far more specific, personal, even noble in mind for each of us?


God’s Word tells us: “‘Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.’” (John 7:38).


Jesus said that if we believe in Him, “streams of living water will flow from within (us).” That implies singularity, importance, even nobility. Yet, how often we seem to be content with unimportance, secure in our religion, content to occupy a pew on Sunday without ever looking up into the realm “someoneness,” the brother or sister in Christ that we are. God calls you and I to be special, lifted above religion and ourselves. Visiting the pew is comforting, living there is not our calling. God made you and I to be someone, not somebody. Ours is to soar, not merely fly.


We pray. “Father, I pray that as I soar like eagles, I will not do anything that will make You bring me down. Lord, I pray that I will not be small among the nations and I shall not be despised in Jesus' name. Father, deliver me from pride. Let me soar above unbelief and show the way. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Soaring?




Not merely flying? Are you someone or somebody? Someone implies a singular purpose, an identity of uniqueness. Somebody leaves us with the sense that we might be just one of a nameless mass of others. What does God want you and I to be––someone or somebody?


Think about it. Is God content with a whole bunch of sameness or does God have something far more specific, personal, even noble in mind for each of us?


God’s Word tells us: “‘Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.’” (John 7:38).


Jesus said that if we believe in Him, “streams of living water will flow from within (us).” That implies singularity, importance, even nobility. Yet, how often we seem to be content with unimportance, secure in our religion, content to occupy a pew on Sunday without ever looking up into the realm “someoneness,” the brother or sister in Christ that we are. God calls you and I to be special, lifted above religion and ourselves. Visiting the pew is comforting, living there is not our calling. God made you and I to be someone, not somebody. Ours is to soar, not merely fly.


We pray. “Father, I pray that as I soar like eagles, I will not do anything that will make You bring me down. Lord, I pray that I will not be small among the nations and I shall not be despised in Jesus' name. Father, deliver me from pride. Let me soar above unbelief and show the way. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page