top of page

Sharp axes?



Sharp axes? I like being prepared, but I often neglect it. A number of years ago, Holly and I took down several dead trees. I got the tractor, trailer, chainsaw, gear oil, fuel, maul, wedges, and gloves, feeling ready to tackle the job. But my clogged chainsaw wasn't prepared. Friction caused the chain to bind and jump. I had equipment, but it turned out I wasn’t properly prepared.


Think about it. When it comes to your daily walk with God, how prepared are you? Or, have spiritual shortcuts come back to bite you?


God’s Word: “Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you (James 4:8a).”


To maintain our spirituality, we need to take time for prayer, Bible reading, and worship. Without these, our faith becomes ineffective in times of trial. Amid all our busyness, spend moments with God, focusing on Christ and being renewed by the Holy Spirit. Snatch precious moments each hour to ask for guidance, give thanks, and study Scripture. This practice brings new strength and spiritual stamina, helping us avoid future calamities. By sharpening our relationship with God today, we discover resilience and deeper faith for tomorrow.           


We pray: “Heavenly Father, help me to carve out moments for prayer, worship, and reading of Your Word. Renew my spirit with Your Holy Spirit, and strengthen my faith through your Word. Oh Lord, guide me every day, and help me stay connected to You amidst life's busyness. In Jesus name. Amen.”

                                                        

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Sharp axes?



Sharp axes? I like being prepared, but I often neglect it. A number of years ago, Holly and I took down several dead trees. I got the tractor, trailer, chainsaw, gear oil, fuel, maul, wedges, and gloves, feeling ready to tackle the job. But my clogged chainsaw wasn't prepared. Friction caused the chain to bind and jump. I had equipment, but it turned out I wasn’t properly prepared.


Think about it. When it comes to your daily walk with God, how prepared are you? Or, have spiritual shortcuts come back to bite you?


God’s Word: “Draw near to God, and He will draw near to you (James 4:8a).”


To maintain our spirituality, we need to take time for prayer, Bible reading, and worship. Without these, our faith becomes ineffective in times of trial. Amid all our busyness, spend moments with God, focusing on Christ and being renewed by the Holy Spirit. Snatch precious moments each hour to ask for guidance, give thanks, and study Scripture. This practice brings new strength and spiritual stamina, helping us avoid future calamities. By sharpening our relationship with God today, we discover resilience and deeper faith for tomorrow.           


We pray: “Heavenly Father, help me to carve out moments for prayer, worship, and reading of Your Word. Renew my spirit with Your Holy Spirit, and strengthen my faith through your Word. Oh Lord, guide me every day, and help me stay connected to You amidst life's busyness. In Jesus name. Amen.”

                                                        

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page