top of page

Sands of life?

(11.24.21– (A Thankful Heart!) -Numbers 11: 4-6)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Like that magnet, it sweeps through our lives looking not just for the big things, but also for the little, tiny and unseen blessings that God mixes in with life.

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



Fill a small bucket with sand and then mix into the sand a handful of metal filings. When you're finished mixing you will probably be able to see a bit of iron here and there but it will be difficult to distinguish them, for the most part, from the varicolored sand grains. Give that bucket to a friend and then ask them to find the grains of iron mixed in with the sand. Invariably they will take the challenge and sweep their fingers back and forth through the sand grains. But, no matter how hard they try, it will be impossible for them to grasp a grain of iron between thumb and forefinger. Now give that friend a magnet and ask them to find the filings. It will be a very different story. With but a few sweeps through the sand, the filings will emerge, clumped tightly to the end of that magnet. What was unseen is now seen.


This is the force of thankfulness in our lives. Like that magnet, it sweeps through our lives looking not just for the big things, but also for the little, tiny and unseen blessings that God mixes in with life.


Here's a thought from an unknown author: "Today on a bus, I saw a lovely girl with golden hair; I envied her–she seemed so fair, and how, I wished I looked like her. When suddenly she got up to leave, I saw her hobble down the aisle; she had one leg and used a crutch, but as she passed, she smiled. Oh God, forgive me when I whine, I have two feet–the world is mine. And when I stopped to buy some sweets, the boy who served me had such charm; he seemed to radiate good cheer, his manner was so kind and warm; I said, 'It's nice to deal with you, such courtesy I seldom find'; he turned and said, 'Oh, thank you.’ And then I saw that he was blind. Oh, God, forgive me when I whine, I have two eyes, the world is mine. Then, when walking down the street, I saw a child with eyes of blue; he stood and watched the others play, it seemed he knew not what to do; I stopped a moment, then I said, 'Why don't you join the others, dear?' He looked ahead without a word, and then I knew he could not hear. Oh God, forgive me when I whine, I have two ears, the world is mine. With feet to take me where I'd go; with eyes to see the sunsets glow, with ears to hear what I would know. I am blessed indeed. The world is mine; oh God, forgive me when I whine. (Source Unknown)


Dissatisfaction and unthankfulness come when we focus on what we don't have instead of what we have. When we overlook the bread in our lives, we overlook that little ever so satisfying crumb that must not be overlooked for it is the source of pure joy and the evidence of unbounded grace. O God forgive us when we whine for we have so much that can be ours if only we would choose to pass the magnet of Your love through the sand of our lives.

We pray. Heavenly Father, dissatisfaction and unthankfulness come when we focus on what we don't have instead of what we have. When we overlook the bread in our lives, we overlook that little ever so satisfying crumb that must not be overlooked for it is the source of pure joy and the evidence of unbounded grace. O God forgive us when we whine for we have so much that can be ours if only we would choose to pass the magnet of Your love through the sand of our lives. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Sands of life?

(11.24.21– (A Thankful Heart!) -Numbers 11: 4-6)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Like that magnet, it sweeps through our lives looking not just for the big things, but also for the little, tiny and unseen blessings that God mixes in with life.

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



Fill a small bucket with sand and then mix into the sand a handful of metal filings. When you're finished mixing you will probably be able to see a bit of iron here and there but it will be difficult to distinguish them, for the most part, from the varicolored sand grains. Give that bucket to a friend and then ask them to find the grains of iron mixed in with the sand. Invariably they will take the challenge and sweep their fingers back and forth through the sand grains. But, no matter how hard they try, it will be impossible for them to grasp a grain of iron between thumb and forefinger. Now give that friend a magnet and ask them to find the filings. It will be a very different story. With but a few sweeps through the sand, the filings will emerge, clumped tightly to the end of that magnet. What was unseen is now seen.


This is the force of thankfulness in our lives. Like that magnet, it sweeps through our lives looking not just for the big things, but also for the little, tiny and unseen blessings that God mixes in with life.


Here's a thought from an unknown author: "Today on a bus, I saw a lovely girl with golden hair; I envied her–she seemed so fair, and how, I wished I looked like her. When suddenly she got up to leave, I saw her hobble down the aisle; she had one leg and used a crutch, but as she passed, she smiled. Oh God, forgive me when I whine, I have two feet–the world is mine. And when I stopped to buy some sweets, the boy who served me had such charm; he seemed to radiate good cheer, his manner was so kind and warm; I said, 'It's nice to deal with you, such courtesy I seldom find'; he turned and said, 'Oh, thank you.’ And then I saw that he was blind. Oh, God, forgive me when I whine, I have two eyes, the world is mine. Then, when walking down the street, I saw a child with eyes of blue; he stood and watched the others play, it seemed he knew not what to do; I stopped a moment, then I said, 'Why don't you join the others, dear?' He looked ahead without a word, and then I knew he could not hear. Oh God, forgive me when I whine, I have two ears, the world is mine. With feet to take me where I'd go; with eyes to see the sunsets glow, with ears to hear what I would know. I am blessed indeed. The world is mine; oh God, forgive me when I whine. (Source Unknown)


Dissatisfaction and unthankfulness come when we focus on what we don't have instead of what we have. When we overlook the bread in our lives, we overlook that little ever so satisfying crumb that must not be overlooked for it is the source of pure joy and the evidence of unbounded grace. O God forgive us when we whine for we have so much that can be ours if only we would choose to pass the magnet of Your love through the sand of our lives.

We pray. Heavenly Father, dissatisfaction and unthankfulness come when we focus on what we don't have instead of what we have. When we overlook the bread in our lives, we overlook that little ever so satisfying crumb that must not be overlooked for it is the source of pure joy and the evidence of unbounded grace. O God forgive us when we whine for we have so much that can be ours if only we would choose to pass the magnet of Your love through the sand of our lives. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page