top of page

Parsley on a plate?



Main course? I enjoy being recognized; it’s a part of my prideful nature that has always needed close monitoring. With monitoring a sort of sobering realization always comes to fore. I’m really not that talented or entertaining except by my own reckon- ing. My own opinion of myself is always much broader, much more positive and complimentary than that of an impartial critic.


Think about it. What about you and I? If we are blessed with opportunity, maybe even material wealth and possessions, should we take that to heart and make it who we are?


God’s Word tells us: “To fear the LORD is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech.” Proverbs 11:2 “When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom” (Proverbs 8:13).


Certainly Jesus was the greatest man to ever live upon the face of the earth. Yet, he put all men before him. He hid his success in God and preferred others to shine above himself. So it is with us. Fame is for others, faith is for us. We’re the parsley on the plate, a compliment to the main course, Christ Jesus himself.


“Heavenly Father, forgive me of my pride and self-interest. Forgive me for my arrogance and deceitful tongue. Remake me by your Spirit to be holy in word and deed, compassionate toward those in need, and freed from evil. Curb my pride. In Jesus name, Amen!


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


Parsley on a plate?



Main course? I enjoy being recognized; it’s a part of my prideful nature that has always needed close monitoring. With monitoring a sort of sobering realization always comes to fore. I’m really not that talented or entertaining except by my own reckon- ing. My own opinion of myself is always much broader, much more positive and complimentary than that of an impartial critic.


Think about it. What about you and I? If we are blessed with opportunity, maybe even material wealth and possessions, should we take that to heart and make it who we are?


God’s Word tells us: “To fear the LORD is to hate evil; I hate pride and arrogance, evil behavior and perverse speech.” Proverbs 11:2 “When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom” (Proverbs 8:13).


Certainly Jesus was the greatest man to ever live upon the face of the earth. Yet, he put all men before him. He hid his success in God and preferred others to shine above himself. So it is with us. Fame is for others, faith is for us. We’re the parsley on the plate, a compliment to the main course, Christ Jesus himself.


“Heavenly Father, forgive me of my pride and self-interest. Forgive me for my arrogance and deceitful tongue. Remake me by your Spirit to be holy in word and deed, compassionate toward those in need, and freed from evil. Curb my pride. In Jesus name, Amen!


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


bottom of page