top of page

Overachieving?

Overachieving? (06.10.21– Burn Out -Haggai 1:5-11)


My friend, may I ask you a question? When it comes to managing our time and avoiding burnout, do many of us work it out by overworking? We know deep down what we ought to be doing, yet we often continue to avoid it?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




There was a time when I thought that it was real smart to buy the cheapest and get the better deal. For some reason, unknown to my wife Holly, I always felt that you didn't necessarily have to sacrifice qualify for price. I guess it was a combination of believing that the higher priced items weren't really as good as they claimed to be and the lower priced items weren't as bad as my wife said they were. For whatever reason, for years I based most of my shopping decisions on whether or not I had saved money on the initial purchase. Seldom did I think about the possibility that two cheaper items added together might be more expensive than the one higher-priced item that outlived the life span of the cheaper purchases. It would have made dollars and sense, but that logic didn’t help me reach my goal of buying the cheapest at all costs.


In that regard as I got older I didn’t grow in the knowledge of what was the best value; I had, rather, been "dumbing down" all that time. But, after years of living with my much wiser wife, I finally came to accept the realization that three of my "cheapies" was usually more expensive than one of her more expensive choices. What I thought were wise choices had often turned out to be some pretty dumb choices.


When it comes to managing our time and avoiding burnout, many of us work in a similar way. We know deep down what we ought to be doing. It makes sense to take vacations, limit our working hours and leave work at the office. Unfortunately, like the first-grader who wondered "why if her father brought home a briefcase full of work every evening that he couldn’t finish it all at the office, they didn’t put him in a slower group," we often present a pretty dumb picture to our loved ones when we don’t realize that it is our choice to burden ourselves. We take the cheaper route because it is really the easiest route and requires far less thought and dedication. When you think about it, over-achieving, trying to pack too much into a day, a week and a life, are similar. In reality it's the "cheap way" of accomplishing the tasks that God puts before all of us. We think that we are accomplishing much. But, in the eyes of our God, it is so much dust and nonsense. The Bible tells us that He will “blow it away”.


Stop and think. Are you in the “slower” group? Have you gotten caught up in a cycle of "dumbing down" because it is the easy way out? The easiest way to avoid burnout is to be wise in the choices you make concerning where your time is dedicated. The easy way out may be the dumber path.


We pray. Heavenly Father, overachieving is something that we often do and are sorry for it later. When we are stressed it sometimes seems the best thing to do. Yet, we see the warning signs but don't heed them even when others see it plainly. Forgive us Lord for looking for an easy way out. We feel the pressure to turn to You, but ignore the feelings in favor of the willingness to take the risk and keep working our way out of our problems. Help us by Your Spirit to avoid overachieving as a cheap way out of our problems. It never worked and never will. No one is impressed; especially You. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Overachieving?

Overachieving? (06.10.21– Burn Out -Haggai 1:5-11)


My friend, may I ask you a question? When it comes to managing our time and avoiding burnout, do many of us work it out by overworking? We know deep down what we ought to be doing, yet we often continue to avoid it?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




There was a time when I thought that it was real smart to buy the cheapest and get the better deal. For some reason, unknown to my wife Holly, I always felt that you didn't necessarily have to sacrifice qualify for price. I guess it was a combination of believing that the higher priced items weren't really as good as they claimed to be and the lower priced items weren't as bad as my wife said they were. For whatever reason, for years I based most of my shopping decisions on whether or not I had saved money on the initial purchase. Seldom did I think about the possibility that two cheaper items added together might be more expensive than the one higher-priced item that outlived the life span of the cheaper purchases. It would have made dollars and sense, but that logic didn’t help me reach my goal of buying the cheapest at all costs.


In that regard as I got older I didn’t grow in the knowledge of what was the best value; I had, rather, been "dumbing down" all that time. But, after years of living with my much wiser wife, I finally came to accept the realization that three of my "cheapies" was usually more expensive than one of her more expensive choices. What I thought were wise choices had often turned out to be some pretty dumb choices.


When it comes to managing our time and avoiding burnout, many of us work in a similar way. We know deep down what we ought to be doing. It makes sense to take vacations, limit our working hours and leave work at the office. Unfortunately, like the first-grader who wondered "why if her father brought home a briefcase full of work every evening that he couldn’t finish it all at the office, they didn’t put him in a slower group," we often present a pretty dumb picture to our loved ones when we don’t realize that it is our choice to burden ourselves. We take the cheaper route because it is really the easiest route and requires far less thought and dedication. When you think about it, over-achieving, trying to pack too much into a day, a week and a life, are similar. In reality it's the "cheap way" of accomplishing the tasks that God puts before all of us. We think that we are accomplishing much. But, in the eyes of our God, it is so much dust and nonsense. The Bible tells us that He will “blow it away”.


Stop and think. Are you in the “slower” group? Have you gotten caught up in a cycle of "dumbing down" because it is the easy way out? The easiest way to avoid burnout is to be wise in the choices you make concerning where your time is dedicated. The easy way out may be the dumber path.


We pray. Heavenly Father, overachieving is something that we often do and are sorry for it later. When we are stressed it sometimes seems the best thing to do. Yet, we see the warning signs but don't heed them even when others see it plainly. Forgive us Lord for looking for an easy way out. We feel the pressure to turn to You, but ignore the feelings in favor of the willingness to take the risk and keep working our way out of our problems. Help us by Your Spirit to avoid overachieving as a cheap way out of our problems. It never worked and never will. No one is impressed; especially You. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page