top of page

Our own load?

(06.15.21– Not My Fault! – Galatians 6: 4-5)


My friend, may I ask you a question? How easy is it to blame others, especially when they are at least somewhat responsible for what happens to us. But, ultimately, is it true that there usually is enough blame to go around, and, that includes us?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.


Recently I decided it was time to mark trees for fall cutting here at Beech Springs. For that I needed a can of spray paint. I rummaged through my paint cabinet selecting can after can of paint only to find that nearly every can of paint was useless. The paint had congealed in the spray heads. I remarked to my wife that you would think they could make a can of spray paint that actually worked when you needed it. She remarked, “You would think that when you put them away you would make sure that the spray heads were clean.” She had a point.


How easy it is to blame others, especially when they are at least somewhat responsible for what happens to us. But, ultimately, there's usually enough blame to go around. And, that includes us.


Here's story from Lynn Chaffert: "I can't help but feel a little aggravated at my Sheltie Dog! After all, it was all her fault! She could have completely avoided her injuries if she had simply obeyed and not run after that other dog and was bitten! She should have obeyed. Yet, when given the chance to really think about it, every time I try to focus on how naughty she's been, my conscience pricks me. You see, she wasn't on a leash. That wasn't her fault. It was mine. I knew that if she ever got tangled up with another dog, she would probably end up getting hurt. Yet because it is easier on me to have her run free, I didn't put her on a leash. So ultimately, though she did disobey, the ultimate responsibility for what happened to her is mine! (Lyn Chaffart, Moderator, The Nugget, Scriptural Nuggets)


How much heartache and hurt feelings could be avoided if we would only take responsibility for our own actions and stop trying to blame others for what happens! Each of us needs to be challenged to discover if "we" have anything to do with what's happening? If the answer is yes, take it back to the Lord and ask Him if there are any unleashed dogs running around in our lives; or, perhaps a can of spray paint that needs our attention? As the Bible says, "Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else, for each one should carry his own load." (Gal 6:4-5) The funny thing about blame is, there's always plenty to go around.

We pray. Heavenly Father, we would avoid so much heartache and hurt feelings if we would only take responsibility for our own actions and stop trying to blame others for what happens in our lives! Forgive us when we make a point to lay the blame for anything at the foot of another. Please challenge me to discover if "I" have anything to do with what's happening? If the answer is yes, help me to discover if there are any unleashed dogs running around in my life; or, perhaps a can of spray paint that needs my attention? As the Bible says, "Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else, for each one should carry his own load." (Gal 6:4-5) The funny thing about blame, Lord, is there's always plenty to go around. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


Our own load?

(06.15.21– Not My Fault! – Galatians 6: 4-5)


My friend, may I ask you a question? How easy is it to blame others, especially when they are at least somewhat responsible for what happens to us. But, ultimately, is it true that there usually is enough blame to go around, and, that includes us?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.


Recently I decided it was time to mark trees for fall cutting here at Beech Springs. For that I needed a can of spray paint. I rummaged through my paint cabinet selecting can after can of paint only to find that nearly every can of paint was useless. The paint had congealed in the spray heads. I remarked to my wife that you would think they could make a can of spray paint that actually worked when you needed it. She remarked, “You would think that when you put them away you would make sure that the spray heads were clean.” She had a point.


How easy it is to blame others, especially when they are at least somewhat responsible for what happens to us. But, ultimately, there's usually enough blame to go around. And, that includes us.


Here's story from Lynn Chaffert: "I can't help but feel a little aggravated at my Sheltie Dog! After all, it was all her fault! She could have completely avoided her injuries if she had simply obeyed and not run after that other dog and was bitten! She should have obeyed. Yet, when given the chance to really think about it, every time I try to focus on how naughty she's been, my conscience pricks me. You see, she wasn't on a leash. That wasn't her fault. It was mine. I knew that if she ever got tangled up with another dog, she would probably end up getting hurt. Yet because it is easier on me to have her run free, I didn't put her on a leash. So ultimately, though she did disobey, the ultimate responsibility for what happened to her is mine! (Lyn Chaffart, Moderator, The Nugget, Scriptural Nuggets)


How much heartache and hurt feelings could be avoided if we would only take responsibility for our own actions and stop trying to blame others for what happens! Each of us needs to be challenged to discover if "we" have anything to do with what's happening? If the answer is yes, take it back to the Lord and ask Him if there are any unleashed dogs running around in our lives; or, perhaps a can of spray paint that needs our attention? As the Bible says, "Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else, for each one should carry his own load." (Gal 6:4-5) The funny thing about blame is, there's always plenty to go around.

We pray. Heavenly Father, we would avoid so much heartache and hurt feelings if we would only take responsibility for our own actions and stop trying to blame others for what happens in our lives! Forgive us when we make a point to lay the blame for anything at the foot of another. Please challenge me to discover if "I" have anything to do with what's happening? If the answer is yes, help me to discover if there are any unleashed dogs running around in my life; or, perhaps a can of spray paint that needs my attention? As the Bible says, "Each one should test his own actions. Then he can take pride in himself, without comparing himself to somebody else, for each one should carry his own load." (Gal 6:4-5) The funny thing about blame, Lord, is there's always plenty to go around. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


bottom of page