top of page

No substitute?




No substitute? Although a generalist by nature, I acknowledge there is a place for details. When the outcome of what I do and how I do it, is something necessarily measurable, and the final product something I greatly desire, I’m the first one to rely on specificity.


Think about it. Sometimes, no matter how we strive to think in broad terms, the necessity of the project outcome keeps bringing us back to specificity.


God’s Word: “… make a sanctuary for me, and I will dwell among them. Make this tabernacle and all its furnishings exactly like the pattern I will show you” (Exodus 25:8).


Religion can become over-focused on externals, and we need to be careful of believing in them and not the story they tell. When they no longer exist as the broad storytellers they ought to be, (hymnals, catechisms, buildings et al) pointing to our Savior, we will be left with the externals of faith, without the substance of it. Belief is no substitute for faith.


“Heavenly Father, pour Your Spirit on our hearts, that with steadfast faith we may cling to Jesus, find comfort in His atonement, believe the forgiveness and lead holy lives until by Your grace we depart from this world of sorrow and obtain eternal life; through your Son, Jesus Christ. In Jesus name. Amen!”

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


No substitute?




No substitute? Although a generalist by nature, I acknowledge there is a place for details. When the outcome of what I do and how I do it, is something necessarily measurable, and the final product something I greatly desire, I’m the first one to rely on specificity.


Think about it. Sometimes, no matter how we strive to think in broad terms, the necessity of the project outcome keeps bringing us back to specificity.


God’s Word: “… make a sanctuary for me, and I will dwell among them. Make this tabernacle and all its furnishings exactly like the pattern I will show you” (Exodus 25:8).


Religion can become over-focused on externals, and we need to be careful of believing in them and not the story they tell. When they no longer exist as the broad storytellers they ought to be, (hymnals, catechisms, buildings et al) pointing to our Savior, we will be left with the externals of faith, without the substance of it. Belief is no substitute for faith.


“Heavenly Father, pour Your Spirit on our hearts, that with steadfast faith we may cling to Jesus, find comfort in His atonement, believe the forgiveness and lead holy lives until by Your grace we depart from this world of sorrow and obtain eternal life; through your Son, Jesus Christ. In Jesus name. Amen!”

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


bottom of page