top of page

Little things?

(09.5.21– Living Life –John 11:5-7)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Want to live life to the fullest? Perhaps you should try applying an even amount of effort and patience to everything you decide to tackle?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



If you're like me you love to categorize. You know, smallest to largest, lightest to heaviest? It really doesn't matter how we do it, the fact of the matter is that it just comes naturally. For example: Just this morning as I opened up the calendar on my laptop, I began arranging my day according to tasks. A daily ritual, some days I start with the most urgent tasks and then sort them down to least. Other days, when urgency isn't an issue, I sort by the size of the task. Since it's early and I haven't had sufficient coffee to awaken all my senses that seemed to have made the most sense. From day to day the theme changes. But, one thing that never changes is this: all the work, no matter how big or small, urgent or not, has to get done. I can categorize until the cows come home, in the end, it really doesn't make a whole lot of difference.


Want to live life to the fullest? Try applying an even amount of effort and patience to everything you decide to tackle.


Here's a thought from Edward Pusey: "We need patience with ourselves and with others; with those below and those above us, and with our own equals; with those who love and those who don't love us; for the greatest things and for the least; against sudden trouble, and under our daily burdens; for disappointments or the breaking of the heart; in physical weariness, or emotional fatigue; in our own failure to do what is right, or others' failure toward us; in everyday wants, or in the midst of sickness or the decay of age; in disappointment, bereavement, losses, injuries, criticism; in heaviness of the heart or in sickness amid delayed hopes. In all these things, from childhood's little troubles to the martyr's sufferings, patience is the grace of God whereby we endure evil for the love of God." (Edward Pusey)


The true goal in life, yours and mine, is to finish what God has asked us to start. That's the big picture; all things considered. Among those tasks are big ones and small ones, tasks that need to be finished first and others later. Some are pleasant while others are well, not so pleasant. Sometimes when we get caught up in that never-ending effort to find purpose in life, we end up spending more time prioritizing things and not enough time hacking away at tasks, one at a time. Look at your day as a big picture, not a bunch of disconnected and fractured tasks on a never-ending "to-do" list. Ask God to bless your efforts for the day and then get going. Be patient with the scope and length of what God has put on your "to-do" list today. Remember, His purpose isn't always revealed in our sense of priority. Rest assured that what you have to do today has everything to do with love. Put that way, there isn't a small task that is unimportant or a non-pressing one that isn't timely.


We pray. Heavenly Father, help me to look at my day as a big picture, not a bunch of disconnected and fractured tasks on a never-ending "to-do" list. Bless my efforts for the day and help me to get going to accomplish Your purposes. Forgive me for my impatience with the scope and length of Your "to-do" list for me today and remind me that Your purposes aren’t always revealed in our sense of priority. We know that everything You have planned for us to do today has everything to do with Your love, so there isn't a small task that is unimportant on Your “to-do” list for us. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Komentáře


Little things?

(09.5.21– Living Life –John 11:5-7)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Want to live life to the fullest? Perhaps you should try applying an even amount of effort and patience to everything you decide to tackle?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



If you're like me you love to categorize. You know, smallest to largest, lightest to heaviest? It really doesn't matter how we do it, the fact of the matter is that it just comes naturally. For example: Just this morning as I opened up the calendar on my laptop, I began arranging my day according to tasks. A daily ritual, some days I start with the most urgent tasks and then sort them down to least. Other days, when urgency isn't an issue, I sort by the size of the task. Since it's early and I haven't had sufficient coffee to awaken all my senses that seemed to have made the most sense. From day to day the theme changes. But, one thing that never changes is this: all the work, no matter how big or small, urgent or not, has to get done. I can categorize until the cows come home, in the end, it really doesn't make a whole lot of difference.


Want to live life to the fullest? Try applying an even amount of effort and patience to everything you decide to tackle.


Here's a thought from Edward Pusey: "We need patience with ourselves and with others; with those below and those above us, and with our own equals; with those who love and those who don't love us; for the greatest things and for the least; against sudden trouble, and under our daily burdens; for disappointments or the breaking of the heart; in physical weariness, or emotional fatigue; in our own failure to do what is right, or others' failure toward us; in everyday wants, or in the midst of sickness or the decay of age; in disappointment, bereavement, losses, injuries, criticism; in heaviness of the heart or in sickness amid delayed hopes. In all these things, from childhood's little troubles to the martyr's sufferings, patience is the grace of God whereby we endure evil for the love of God." (Edward Pusey)


The true goal in life, yours and mine, is to finish what God has asked us to start. That's the big picture; all things considered. Among those tasks are big ones and small ones, tasks that need to be finished first and others later. Some are pleasant while others are well, not so pleasant. Sometimes when we get caught up in that never-ending effort to find purpose in life, we end up spending more time prioritizing things and not enough time hacking away at tasks, one at a time. Look at your day as a big picture, not a bunch of disconnected and fractured tasks on a never-ending "to-do" list. Ask God to bless your efforts for the day and then get going. Be patient with the scope and length of what God has put on your "to-do" list today. Remember, His purpose isn't always revealed in our sense of priority. Rest assured that what you have to do today has everything to do with love. Put that way, there isn't a small task that is unimportant or a non-pressing one that isn't timely.


We pray. Heavenly Father, help me to look at my day as a big picture, not a bunch of disconnected and fractured tasks on a never-ending "to-do" list. Bless my efforts for the day and help me to get going to accomplish Your purposes. Forgive me for my impatience with the scope and length of Your "to-do" list for me today and remind me that Your purposes aren’t always revealed in our sense of priority. We know that everything You have planned for us to do today has everything to do with Your love, so there isn't a small task that is unimportant on Your “to-do” list for us. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Komentáře


bottom of page