top of page

Lifesaver?






Lifesaver? Near misses. There are the near misses that you regret, like being just one number away from a lucky number on a raffle ticket. There are also near misses that you appreciate, like the time your car radiator cap pops off and misses nailing you in the middle of your forehead by inches. Life is full of near misses, good and bad.


Think about it. Life is short and I’m reminded of that every time I experience one of these near misses in life.


God’s Word tells us: “‘…I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life.’” (John 5:24).”


The feeling of making it through a near miss is euphoric. We experience a feeling of joy and relief when it happens. Close calls make us happy to be alive. Ironically, that’s the way we might feel when someday, perhaps because of a near miss that wasn’t, we finally come to Heaven’s doors. For, like a harmless shadow, death for a Christian becomes nothing more than a near miss. It can’t touch us since it already ran over Jesus, so it can’t run over us. Lifesaver… close call!


We pray. “Loving Father, keep me ever mindful of Your Word and the truth that is contained in the plain message of Scripture and the glorious gospel of grace and forgiveness. I praise and thank You that I have passed from death to life, by believing Jesus crossed over for me. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Lifesaver?






Lifesaver? Near misses. There are the near misses that you regret, like being just one number away from a lucky number on a raffle ticket. There are also near misses that you appreciate, like the time your car radiator cap pops off and misses nailing you in the middle of your forehead by inches. Life is full of near misses, good and bad.


Think about it. Life is short and I’m reminded of that every time I experience one of these near misses in life.


God’s Word tells us: “‘…I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life.’” (John 5:24).”


The feeling of making it through a near miss is euphoric. We experience a feeling of joy and relief when it happens. Close calls make us happy to be alive. Ironically, that’s the way we might feel when someday, perhaps because of a near miss that wasn’t, we finally come to Heaven’s doors. For, like a harmless shadow, death for a Christian becomes nothing more than a near miss. It can’t touch us since it already ran over Jesus, so it can’t run over us. Lifesaver… close call!


We pray. “Loving Father, keep me ever mindful of Your Word and the truth that is contained in the plain message of Scripture and the glorious gospel of grace and forgiveness. I praise and thank You that I have passed from death to life, by believing Jesus crossed over for me. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page