top of page

Just stuff?



Just stuff? As a boy, I was captivated by tales of pirates and buried treasure. Inspired, I created my own "treasure" in a shoebox, filling it with items most precious to me, an eight-year old boy, and buried it in the woods. After a week, I eagerly dug it up, proud of my discovery. On my way home, box cradled under arm, I showed it to an older kid, Mickey, who saw me coming. He frowned and said, “Baseball cards and a jackknife? That’s not a treasure, that’s just stuff.”


Think about it. Sometimes the things we own, stuff we think has great value, isn’t really as valuable as we think.


God’s Word: "Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven… (Matthew 6:19).”


The Bible warns against the tyranny of worldly things, urging us to see them as "stuff" rather than treasure. My disappointment when Mickey dismissed my treasure as just "stuff" was a lesson. Likewise, it’s good to know that when it comes to faith, the only real treasure is Jesus Christ. Trust in Him, and you’ll never be disappointed in your claim to personal riches. That not just stuff.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, help us to seek true treasure in You, not in the fleeting things of this world. Guide our hearts to store treasures in heaven, where they endure. Keep us focused on Your eternal promises, not just stuff but treasures, so we may never be disappointed. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Just stuff?



Just stuff? As a boy, I was captivated by tales of pirates and buried treasure. Inspired, I created my own "treasure" in a shoebox, filling it with items most precious to me, an eight-year old boy, and buried it in the woods. After a week, I eagerly dug it up, proud of my discovery. On my way home, box cradled under arm, I showed it to an older kid, Mickey, who saw me coming. He frowned and said, “Baseball cards and a jackknife? That’s not a treasure, that’s just stuff.”


Think about it. Sometimes the things we own, stuff we think has great value, isn’t really as valuable as we think.


God’s Word: "Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven… (Matthew 6:19).”


The Bible warns against the tyranny of worldly things, urging us to see them as "stuff" rather than treasure. My disappointment when Mickey dismissed my treasure as just "stuff" was a lesson. Likewise, it’s good to know that when it comes to faith, the only real treasure is Jesus Christ. Trust in Him, and you’ll never be disappointed in your claim to personal riches. That not just stuff.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, help us to seek true treasure in You, not in the fleeting things of this world. Guide our hearts to store treasures in heaven, where they endure. Keep us focused on Your eternal promises, not just stuff but treasures, so we may never be disappointed. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page