top of page

Isolation?

(10.06.21– Only The Lonely –Matthew 14:22-242)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Can it be that no good could ever come from being isolated? What was my graffiti friend trying to tell me?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



"Isolation is not all that bad, it just depends on who you spend it with." On the surface those fifteen words speak volumes on the psychology of isolation. The unknown author enjoyed camping and had probably spent a lot of time, perhaps alone, around the old campfire. I know this because I discovered this wisdom some years ago scrawled in pencil on the walls of a men's vault toilet in a national forest campgrounds. I was so taken by it, that I went back later to copy it down in a notebook. I smiled as I read and reread it. Finally, I became intrigued and began to search for the meaning that lay beneath the surface. It gave me pause to think. I began to feel that the message had a deeper meaning, one that I was sup- posed to discover; perhaps to understand and apply to my own life.


Can it be that no good could ever come from being isolated? What was my graffiti friend trying to tell me?

Here's a story: In 1832, French engineer Ferdinand Lesseps was traveling in the Mediterranean when one of the passengers became sick and the ship was quarantined. Day after day went by without any contact with others shipboard. A sense of loneliness and deep regret began to spread over Lesseps. Being an active man, he decided that there was but one way to deal with the loneliness. He decided to occupy himself with the books he had brought along for the journey. In particular it gave him time to read the memoirs of Charles le Pere, a man who had studied the feasibility of building a canal from the Red Sea to the Mediterranean. That volume prompted Lesseps to devise a detailed plan for the construction of the Suez Canal. When it was finally built under his leadership some 30 years later, it brought invaluable service to the world. That quarantine had proven to be immensely profitable, even history changing. (Author unknown)

"Isolation is not all that bad, it just depends on who you spend it with." When I went back to copy down those fifteen words some time later, I noticed that the author had scrawled an "x" at the end of the line instead of a period. I found that odd at first. Was it indication of authorship–a simple "x" is my mark? As I was about to leave it suddenly struck me that what I thought was an "x" was really artwork and not a signature. The "x" was really a stubby little cross. Of all the places to pray I had never imagined a vault toilet to qualify as one. But, when you think of it, it does provide the quiet and solitude that our Savior so often searched for when He needed to spend time alone with His Father in prayer. I guess after all that not all isolation produces paranoia, suicidal thoughts or aggressiveness. Not when it is time spent in the company of the Holy Spirit. It really just depends on whom you are sharing your time of isolation with!


We pray. Heavenly Father, Lord, although it often seems that isolation is a terrible thing, sometimes You provide just the right setting to speak to our spirit by Your Spirit. Thank You for providing the quiet and solitude that our Savior so often searched for when He needed to spend time alone with His Father in prayer. When our isolation is time spent in the company of the Holy Spirit. It really just depends on whom you are sharing your time of isolation with! In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


Isolation?

(10.06.21– Only The Lonely –Matthew 14:22-242)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Can it be that no good could ever come from being isolated? What was my graffiti friend trying to tell me?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



"Isolation is not all that bad, it just depends on who you spend it with." On the surface those fifteen words speak volumes on the psychology of isolation. The unknown author enjoyed camping and had probably spent a lot of time, perhaps alone, around the old campfire. I know this because I discovered this wisdom some years ago scrawled in pencil on the walls of a men's vault toilet in a national forest campgrounds. I was so taken by it, that I went back later to copy it down in a notebook. I smiled as I read and reread it. Finally, I became intrigued and began to search for the meaning that lay beneath the surface. It gave me pause to think. I began to feel that the message had a deeper meaning, one that I was sup- posed to discover; perhaps to understand and apply to my own life.


Can it be that no good could ever come from being isolated? What was my graffiti friend trying to tell me?

Here's a story: In 1832, French engineer Ferdinand Lesseps was traveling in the Mediterranean when one of the passengers became sick and the ship was quarantined. Day after day went by without any contact with others shipboard. A sense of loneliness and deep regret began to spread over Lesseps. Being an active man, he decided that there was but one way to deal with the loneliness. He decided to occupy himself with the books he had brought along for the journey. In particular it gave him time to read the memoirs of Charles le Pere, a man who had studied the feasibility of building a canal from the Red Sea to the Mediterranean. That volume prompted Lesseps to devise a detailed plan for the construction of the Suez Canal. When it was finally built under his leadership some 30 years later, it brought invaluable service to the world. That quarantine had proven to be immensely profitable, even history changing. (Author unknown)

"Isolation is not all that bad, it just depends on who you spend it with." When I went back to copy down those fifteen words some time later, I noticed that the author had scrawled an "x" at the end of the line instead of a period. I found that odd at first. Was it indication of authorship–a simple "x" is my mark? As I was about to leave it suddenly struck me that what I thought was an "x" was really artwork and not a signature. The "x" was really a stubby little cross. Of all the places to pray I had never imagined a vault toilet to qualify as one. But, when you think of it, it does provide the quiet and solitude that our Savior so often searched for when He needed to spend time alone with His Father in prayer. I guess after all that not all isolation produces paranoia, suicidal thoughts or aggressiveness. Not when it is time spent in the company of the Holy Spirit. It really just depends on whom you are sharing your time of isolation with!


We pray. Heavenly Father, Lord, although it often seems that isolation is a terrible thing, sometimes You provide just the right setting to speak to our spirit by Your Spirit. Thank You for providing the quiet and solitude that our Savior so often searched for when He needed to spend time alone with His Father in prayer. When our isolation is time spent in the company of the Holy Spirit. It really just depends on whom you are sharing your time of isolation with! In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


bottom of page