top of page

Intercession?





Intercession? In grade school I got into trouble and my parents were called to the office. The Principal laid out his case. I squirmed. But my Dad put his hand on my shoulder and shushed me. His look indicated he would be doing the talking, not me. It’s like that with prayer

.

Think about it. When we pray, whether out loud or quietly, does God hear us? Truth is He isn’t going to answer our prayers unless, like my Dad, there is a mediator to state our case more carefully, justly and soundly? 

   

God’s Word tells us: “‘I have revealed you to those whom you gave me out of the world. They were yours; you gave them to me and they have obeyed your word.’” (John 17:6).


Our mediator is Jesus Christ; by and through Him and the Holy Spirit, not us. If He doesn’t speak for us, we’re not heard. So, pray in confidence your prayer is shaped through Him. As my Dad took care of me, so He does of us. Be shushed and let Him do what He does best, standing in the very presence of God the Father advocating for us. We belong to Him.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, Thank You Your glorious plan and purpose was for Jesus to go to the Cross and suffer humiliation, pain, and bitter agony so that I might be redeemed by His blood and share in the riches of His grace. Praise Your holy name and bless His sacrifice. In Jesus name. Amen”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Intercession?





Intercession? In grade school I got into trouble and my parents were called to the office. The Principal laid out his case. I squirmed. But my Dad put his hand on my shoulder and shushed me. His look indicated he would be doing the talking, not me. It’s like that with prayer

.

Think about it. When we pray, whether out loud or quietly, does God hear us? Truth is He isn’t going to answer our prayers unless, like my Dad, there is a mediator to state our case more carefully, justly and soundly? 

   

God’s Word tells us: “‘I have revealed you to those whom you gave me out of the world. They were yours; you gave them to me and they have obeyed your word.’” (John 17:6).


Our mediator is Jesus Christ; by and through Him and the Holy Spirit, not us. If He doesn’t speak for us, we’re not heard. So, pray in confidence your prayer is shaped through Him. As my Dad took care of me, so He does of us. Be shushed and let Him do what He does best, standing in the very presence of God the Father advocating for us. We belong to Him.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, Thank You Your glorious plan and purpose was for Jesus to go to the Cross and suffer humiliation, pain, and bitter agony so that I might be redeemed by His blood and share in the riches of His grace. Praise Your holy name and bless His sacrifice. In Jesus name. Amen”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page