top of page

In a hole?



Bottom of the hole? I'm a bit of a control freak, and my wife, Holly, often points it out. Recently, while fretting over something I couldn't control, I went on about the problem and its consequences. As I dug deeper into my frustration, Holly’s eyes glazed over—she'd heard it all before. Finally, she asked, "So, what's your point?" I had none. I just wanted control, but there was none to be found.


Think about it. As Christians we know that God is in control. Yet, why is it that we so often prefer to be in the driver’s seat?


God’s Word: "Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight (Proverbs 3:5-6).”


God wants to be our solace and help, but often we refuse to let Him. Scripture reminds us, “The Sovereign Lord comes with power, and his arm rules” (Isaiah 40:10). We forget that God holds real power, wisdom, and control over our lives. Instead of being control freaks, we should resign as "general managers of the universe" and trust Him. After all, living in a hole of our own making is lonely and dark.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, help me surrender my need for control. Remind me of Your power, wisdom, and authority. Teach me to trust in Your perfect plan, knowing Your shoulders can bear every burden. Guide me and into Your comfort and care. I resign control to You, Lord. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

コメント


In a hole?



Bottom of the hole? I'm a bit of a control freak, and my wife, Holly, often points it out. Recently, while fretting over something I couldn't control, I went on about the problem and its consequences. As I dug deeper into my frustration, Holly’s eyes glazed over—she'd heard it all before. Finally, she asked, "So, what's your point?" I had none. I just wanted control, but there was none to be found.


Think about it. As Christians we know that God is in control. Yet, why is it that we so often prefer to be in the driver’s seat?


God’s Word: "Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight (Proverbs 3:5-6).”


God wants to be our solace and help, but often we refuse to let Him. Scripture reminds us, “The Sovereign Lord comes with power, and his arm rules” (Isaiah 40:10). We forget that God holds real power, wisdom, and control over our lives. Instead of being control freaks, we should resign as "general managers of the universe" and trust Him. After all, living in a hole of our own making is lonely and dark.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, help me surrender my need for control. Remind me of Your power, wisdom, and authority. Teach me to trust in Your perfect plan, knowing Your shoulders can bear every burden. Guide me and into Your comfort and care. I resign control to You, Lord. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

コメント


bottom of page