top of page

Impact?

(09.08.21– Living Life –1 Corinthians 2:6)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Trying to fool someone, as a prank is one thing, but how about God? Is he so easily fooled when it comes to how we live our lives?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




"Are you serious?" My good friend looked at me with an incredulous look on his face. "Really Mark, do you want me to seriously believe what you’re telling me?" For a moment I held my best, serious look, staring Jimmy directly at him. But, after a few moments I just couldn’t hold the laughter back. A smile began to creep across my face and then a deep, almost nasty laugh. I had been pulling his leg and, for a moment, I had him believing what truly was a very tall tale about something he should have known better to believe. But my serious countenance really had him fooled, if only for a short time.


Trying to fool someone, as a prank is one thing, but how about God? Is he so easily fooled when it comes to how we live our lives?


Here's a story: Roy Robertson was a sailor at Pearl Harbor in 1941: "My ship, the West Virginia, docked at Pearl Harbor on the evening of December 6, 1941. A couple of the fellows and I left the ship that night, and attended a Bible study. We sat in a circle on the floor. The leader asked us to each recite our favorite Scripture verse. I sat there in terror. I couldn't recall a single verse. I grew up in a Christian home, went to church three times a week, but I sat there terrified. Finally, I remembered one verse - John 3:16. It was up to the fellow next to me. He recited John 3:16. He took my verse! As he commented on it I sat there in stunned humiliation. Later that night I went to bed thinking, 'Robertson, you're a fake.' At 7:55 the next morning I was awakened by the ship alarm. The Japanese were attacking our ship and I raced to my machine gun emplacement, but all I had was practice ammunition. So for the first fifteen minutes of the two-hour battle, I only fired blanks. As I stood there I thought, 'Robertson, this is how your whole life has been – firing blanks for Christ.' I made up my mind as Japanese bullets slammed into our ship, "If I escape with my life, I'll get serious about following Jesus." Roy Robertson did. He became a "Navigators" missionary and worked with Billy Graham as well. (Peter Kennedy)


God has high expectations of those he calls to do his work; and that’s you and me. As we mature and grow in faith his expectation grow as well. The Apostle Paul comments on this in his letter to the Corinthians. He calls it an expectation of “mature wisdom” (1 Corinthians 1:6). That means we need to get serious about our faith. God is not fooled. Living our lives as Christians means that we will grow in faith and that spiritual growth will result in a mature form of wisdom that impacts others for Christ in a way that's both believable and meaningful. Don't fire spiritual blanks. They really don't fool anyone.


We pray. Heavenly Father, we know that You have high expectations of those You call to do Your work; and that applies to each one of us. We also know that Your exceptions grow as we mature and grow in faith. The Apostle Paul told us this in his letter to the Corinthians. He calls it an expectation of “mature wisdom” (1 Corinthians 1:6). That means we need to get serious about our faith. You are not fooled. Living our lives as Christians means that we will grow in faith and that spiritual growth will result in a mature form of wisdom that impacts others for You in a way that's both believable and meaningful. Forgive us for ever firing spiritual blanks. They really don't fool anyone. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


Impact?

(09.08.21– Living Life –1 Corinthians 2:6)


My friend, may I ask you a question? Trying to fool someone, as a prank is one thing, but how about God? Is he so easily fooled when it comes to how we live our lives?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




"Are you serious?" My good friend looked at me with an incredulous look on his face. "Really Mark, do you want me to seriously believe what you’re telling me?" For a moment I held my best, serious look, staring Jimmy directly at him. But, after a few moments I just couldn’t hold the laughter back. A smile began to creep across my face and then a deep, almost nasty laugh. I had been pulling his leg and, for a moment, I had him believing what truly was a very tall tale about something he should have known better to believe. But my serious countenance really had him fooled, if only for a short time.


Trying to fool someone, as a prank is one thing, but how about God? Is he so easily fooled when it comes to how we live our lives?


Here's a story: Roy Robertson was a sailor at Pearl Harbor in 1941: "My ship, the West Virginia, docked at Pearl Harbor on the evening of December 6, 1941. A couple of the fellows and I left the ship that night, and attended a Bible study. We sat in a circle on the floor. The leader asked us to each recite our favorite Scripture verse. I sat there in terror. I couldn't recall a single verse. I grew up in a Christian home, went to church three times a week, but I sat there terrified. Finally, I remembered one verse - John 3:16. It was up to the fellow next to me. He recited John 3:16. He took my verse! As he commented on it I sat there in stunned humiliation. Later that night I went to bed thinking, 'Robertson, you're a fake.' At 7:55 the next morning I was awakened by the ship alarm. The Japanese were attacking our ship and I raced to my machine gun emplacement, but all I had was practice ammunition. So for the first fifteen minutes of the two-hour battle, I only fired blanks. As I stood there I thought, 'Robertson, this is how your whole life has been – firing blanks for Christ.' I made up my mind as Japanese bullets slammed into our ship, "If I escape with my life, I'll get serious about following Jesus." Roy Robertson did. He became a "Navigators" missionary and worked with Billy Graham as well. (Peter Kennedy)


God has high expectations of those he calls to do his work; and that’s you and me. As we mature and grow in faith his expectation grow as well. The Apostle Paul comments on this in his letter to the Corinthians. He calls it an expectation of “mature wisdom” (1 Corinthians 1:6). That means we need to get serious about our faith. God is not fooled. Living our lives as Christians means that we will grow in faith and that spiritual growth will result in a mature form of wisdom that impacts others for Christ in a way that's both believable and meaningful. Don't fire spiritual blanks. They really don't fool anyone.


We pray. Heavenly Father, we know that You have high expectations of those You call to do Your work; and that applies to each one of us. We also know that Your exceptions grow as we mature and grow in faith. The Apostle Paul told us this in his letter to the Corinthians. He calls it an expectation of “mature wisdom” (1 Corinthians 1:6). That means we need to get serious about our faith. You are not fooled. Living our lives as Christians means that we will grow in faith and that spiritual growth will result in a mature form of wisdom that impacts others for You in a way that's both believable and meaningful. Forgive us for ever firing spiritual blanks. They really don't fool anyone. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


bottom of page