top of page

Holy sweat?

(09.02.21– Just Plain Peace –Philippians 4:7)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Looking for peace in this life? Perhaps it's a matter of finding the right perspective?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



I grew up in the 60s and 70s and was in college at Marquette University during the Vietnam War. Two things were common then: peace marches and anti-war demonstrations. Although Marquette was relatively peaceful during those days, it did have its moments. Bomb scares were not uncommon. I remember one in particular that happened at old Laulemier Hall. Students came pouring out of the building to sit on the lawn surrounding the hall, waiting for the "all-clear." One student, a young lady in my Russian language class, was among them. While the rest of the students fooled around or took naps, I remember watching her buried in study for a test that she should have been taking but couldn't because of the bomb scare. I can still remember what she told me: "I find peace in this chaos. I might as well put my time to good use even though I'll miss the class. It's just a matter of perspective."


Looking for peace in this life? Perhaps it's a matter of finding the right perspective.


A thought from Tim Hansel: "In my late twenties, a bunch of my friends and I decided to sail around the world. I have to admit, though, at the time I was a bit worried. I hadn't even sailed before; I was uneasy and anxious. So I spent a lot of time reading the Bible and praying about it, until it dawned on me that God was whispering, 'Tim, I'll give you peace if you read some books on sailing. The reason you're anxious is not due to lack of prayer, but to your lack of sailing knowledge.' I wasn't un-prayerful; I was unskilled. My perspective was all, wrong. So I took a step I needed to take to 'let' God work his peace in my heart. I began reading about sailing." (Tim Hansel, Holy Sweat, 1987, Word Books Publisher, p. 63.)


The peace of God calms anxiousness and delivers us from our fears. The Apostle Paul wrote to the congregation in Philippi: "May the peace of God that passes all understanding keep your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus" (Philippians 4:7). That same peace allows us to turn our anxiety into calm because men and women of God don't sweat the big things as well as the small. Our sweat is holy, contained and applied to doing good and, as importantly, always searching for the right perspective in everything, even when life cuts our legs out from under us. The right perspective is "how will this bad thing result in good?" Or, "how will this painful experience help me grow in spiritual wellbeing?" When things go wrong and someone or something throws a "bomb" into your peaceful life, keep a right perspective and discover how that "bomb" might end up being just the energy you need to draw closer to others and to God, turning that "sweat" of anxiety into the "holy sweat" of accomplishment. In the end, it's really just a matter of perspective.

We pray. Heavenly Father, we know our sweat is holy when contained and applied to doing good and, as importantly, always searching for the right perspective in everything, even when life cuts our legs out from under us. The right perspective is "how will this bad thing result in good?" Or, "how will this painful experience help me grow in spiritual wellbeing?" When things go wrong and someone or something throws a "bomb" into our peaceful life, Help us Lord to keep a right perspective and discover how that "bomb" might end up being just the energy we need to draw closer to others and to You, turning that "sweat" of anxiety into the "holy sweat" of accomplishment. In the end, it's really just a matter of perspective. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


댓글


Holy sweat?

(09.02.21– Just Plain Peace –Philippians 4:7)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Looking for peace in this life? Perhaps it's a matter of finding the right perspective?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



I grew up in the 60s and 70s and was in college at Marquette University during the Vietnam War. Two things were common then: peace marches and anti-war demonstrations. Although Marquette was relatively peaceful during those days, it did have its moments. Bomb scares were not uncommon. I remember one in particular that happened at old Laulemier Hall. Students came pouring out of the building to sit on the lawn surrounding the hall, waiting for the "all-clear." One student, a young lady in my Russian language class, was among them. While the rest of the students fooled around or took naps, I remember watching her buried in study for a test that she should have been taking but couldn't because of the bomb scare. I can still remember what she told me: "I find peace in this chaos. I might as well put my time to good use even though I'll miss the class. It's just a matter of perspective."


Looking for peace in this life? Perhaps it's a matter of finding the right perspective.


A thought from Tim Hansel: "In my late twenties, a bunch of my friends and I decided to sail around the world. I have to admit, though, at the time I was a bit worried. I hadn't even sailed before; I was uneasy and anxious. So I spent a lot of time reading the Bible and praying about it, until it dawned on me that God was whispering, 'Tim, I'll give you peace if you read some books on sailing. The reason you're anxious is not due to lack of prayer, but to your lack of sailing knowledge.' I wasn't un-prayerful; I was unskilled. My perspective was all, wrong. So I took a step I needed to take to 'let' God work his peace in my heart. I began reading about sailing." (Tim Hansel, Holy Sweat, 1987, Word Books Publisher, p. 63.)


The peace of God calms anxiousness and delivers us from our fears. The Apostle Paul wrote to the congregation in Philippi: "May the peace of God that passes all understanding keep your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus" (Philippians 4:7). That same peace allows us to turn our anxiety into calm because men and women of God don't sweat the big things as well as the small. Our sweat is holy, contained and applied to doing good and, as importantly, always searching for the right perspective in everything, even when life cuts our legs out from under us. The right perspective is "how will this bad thing result in good?" Or, "how will this painful experience help me grow in spiritual wellbeing?" When things go wrong and someone or something throws a "bomb" into your peaceful life, keep a right perspective and discover how that "bomb" might end up being just the energy you need to draw closer to others and to God, turning that "sweat" of anxiety into the "holy sweat" of accomplishment. In the end, it's really just a matter of perspective.

We pray. Heavenly Father, we know our sweat is holy when contained and applied to doing good and, as importantly, always searching for the right perspective in everything, even when life cuts our legs out from under us. The right perspective is "how will this bad thing result in good?" Or, "how will this painful experience help me grow in spiritual wellbeing?" When things go wrong and someone or something throws a "bomb" into our peaceful life, Help us Lord to keep a right perspective and discover how that "bomb" might end up being just the energy we need to draw closer to others and to You, turning that "sweat" of anxiety into the "holy sweat" of accomplishment. In the end, it's really just a matter of perspective. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


댓글


bottom of page