top of page

Hear Him calling?



Hear Him calling? When I was young, I’d ask my dad why we had to go to church on Sundays. He’d say, “Because the Bible tells us to, and that’s what Christians do.” Despite knowing other Christians who didn’t attend every Sunday, I learned not to argue with dad or God. Conforming seemed the better part of valor.


Think about it. Now, Sunday morning is my turn to go to church. Am I following a habit from my father, or has time changed me?


God’s Word: "You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand (Psalm 16:11).”


Worshiping God is a subtle gift, given not because He needs it, but because we do. Though we may not fully appreciate it at the time, the more we worship, the more we love and find joy in it. The Bible advises us to listen rather than offer the sacrifice of fools when we go to God's house. If we listen well, we'll hear Him calling, “Come, I have something good for you that will give you great joy. Give me your heart, and I will fill it.”


We pray. “Heavenly Father, thank You for the gift of worship, given for our benefit. Help us to appreciate and find joy in it and teach it to our children. Teach us to listen when we come to Your house, avoiding the sacrifice of fools. May we hear Your call, give You our hearts, and be filled with joy. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Hear Him calling?



Hear Him calling? When I was young, I’d ask my dad why we had to go to church on Sundays. He’d say, “Because the Bible tells us to, and that’s what Christians do.” Despite knowing other Christians who didn’t attend every Sunday, I learned not to argue with dad or God. Conforming seemed the better part of valor.


Think about it. Now, Sunday morning is my turn to go to church. Am I following a habit from my father, or has time changed me?


God’s Word: "You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand (Psalm 16:11).”


Worshiping God is a subtle gift, given not because He needs it, but because we do. Though we may not fully appreciate it at the time, the more we worship, the more we love and find joy in it. The Bible advises us to listen rather than offer the sacrifice of fools when we go to God's house. If we listen well, we'll hear Him calling, “Come, I have something good for you that will give you great joy. Give me your heart, and I will fill it.”


We pray. “Heavenly Father, thank You for the gift of worship, given for our benefit. Help us to appreciate and find joy in it and teach it to our children. Teach us to listen when we come to Your house, avoiding the sacrifice of fools. May we hear Your call, give You our hearts, and be filled with joy. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page