top of page

He carries me?

(03.11..22—Spiritual Discipline!--John 14:1)


May I ask you a question? When God says He’ll never leave you if you simply trust and obey, do you fall back on some bad thing that happened in your life when God seemed to be allowing pain into your life?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




There’s an old hymn that goes, “Trust and obey for there’s no other way.” Seems like a pretty easy formula for happiness doesn’t it? There’s that trust thing though. That kind of messes things up right away. For example, take little Frodo, one of our little Dachshunds here at Beech Springs. I know that he is fond of me as I am of him. He loves to cuddle and play and I’ve spent many a joyful hour in his presence. But there once was a time when I came to close to one of his little paws with my big foot and since then he’s always been a bit jumpy and not very trusting when I walk near him. He’ll see me coming and start getting out of the way despite my gentle greeting and deliberate willingness to slow down when passing him by. It doesn’t matter; he’s not very trusting. The memory of that one-time, painful encounter just won’t go away.


How about you? When God says He’ll never leave you if you simply trust and obey, do you fall back on some bad thing that happened in your life when God seemed to be allowing pain into your life?

Here's a story: One night a man had a dream. He dreamed he was walking along the beach with the Lord. Across the sky flashed scenes from his life. For each scene, he noticed two sets of footprints in the sand; one belonging to him, and the other to the Lord. "When the last scene of his life flashed before him, he looked back at the footprints in the sand. He noticed that many times along the path of his life there was only one set of footprints. He also noticed that it happened at the very lowest and saddest times in his life. "This really bothered him and he questioned the Lord about it. 'Lord, you said that once I decided to follow you, you'd walk with me all the way. But I have noticed that during the most trouble- some times in my life, there is only one set of footprints. I don't understand why when I needed you most, you would leave me.' "The Lord replied, 'My precious, precious child, I love you and I would never leave you. During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.'" (Margaret Fishback Powers, © 1964.)

I believe that the last and most important key to spiritual discipline is obedience. You and I need to trust God and in that trust show Him our complete and total obedience. It doesn’t come naturally as we’re inclined to want to walk the path of disobedience. It’s more fun and easier. It’s the path of the world and not of God. But you know, even though it might be the path of least resistance, like little Frodo, we need to put our fears of past pains behind us and trust God when He says He’ll never let us fall away. Besides, if He’s carrying us, how can His perfect embrace ever let us go.


We pray. Heavenly Father, teach me to be obedient to Your Word. Help me to trust You, and in that trust show You my complete and total obedience. It doesn’t come naturally as I am inclined to want to walk the path of disobedience. It’s the path of the world and not Yours’ O Lord. Even though it might be the path of least resistance I need to put my fears of past pains behind me and trust You when You say You’ll never let me fall away. Please carry me in Your perfect embrace and never let me go. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Komentarze


He carries me?

(03.11..22—Spiritual Discipline!--John 14:1)


May I ask you a question? When God says He’ll never leave you if you simply trust and obey, do you fall back on some bad thing that happened in your life when God seemed to be allowing pain into your life?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




There’s an old hymn that goes, “Trust and obey for there’s no other way.” Seems like a pretty easy formula for happiness doesn’t it? There’s that trust thing though. That kind of messes things up right away. For example, take little Frodo, one of our little Dachshunds here at Beech Springs. I know that he is fond of me as I am of him. He loves to cuddle and play and I’ve spent many a joyful hour in his presence. But there once was a time when I came to close to one of his little paws with my big foot and since then he’s always been a bit jumpy and not very trusting when I walk near him. He’ll see me coming and start getting out of the way despite my gentle greeting and deliberate willingness to slow down when passing him by. It doesn’t matter; he’s not very trusting. The memory of that one-time, painful encounter just won’t go away.


How about you? When God says He’ll never leave you if you simply trust and obey, do you fall back on some bad thing that happened in your life when God seemed to be allowing pain into your life?

Here's a story: One night a man had a dream. He dreamed he was walking along the beach with the Lord. Across the sky flashed scenes from his life. For each scene, he noticed two sets of footprints in the sand; one belonging to him, and the other to the Lord. "When the last scene of his life flashed before him, he looked back at the footprints in the sand. He noticed that many times along the path of his life there was only one set of footprints. He also noticed that it happened at the very lowest and saddest times in his life. "This really bothered him and he questioned the Lord about it. 'Lord, you said that once I decided to follow you, you'd walk with me all the way. But I have noticed that during the most trouble- some times in my life, there is only one set of footprints. I don't understand why when I needed you most, you would leave me.' "The Lord replied, 'My precious, precious child, I love you and I would never leave you. During your times of trial and suffering, when you see only one set of footprints, it was then that I carried you.'" (Margaret Fishback Powers, © 1964.)

I believe that the last and most important key to spiritual discipline is obedience. You and I need to trust God and in that trust show Him our complete and total obedience. It doesn’t come naturally as we’re inclined to want to walk the path of disobedience. It’s more fun and easier. It’s the path of the world and not of God. But you know, even though it might be the path of least resistance, like little Frodo, we need to put our fears of past pains behind us and trust God when He says He’ll never let us fall away. Besides, if He’s carrying us, how can His perfect embrace ever let us go.


We pray. Heavenly Father, teach me to be obedient to Your Word. Help me to trust You, and in that trust show You my complete and total obedience. It doesn’t come naturally as I am inclined to want to walk the path of disobedience. It’s the path of the world and not Yours’ O Lord. Even though it might be the path of least resistance I need to put my fears of past pains behind me and trust You when You say You’ll never let me fall away. Please carry me in Your perfect embrace and never let me go. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Komentarze


bottom of page