top of page

Going nowhere?





Going nowhere? Both Holly and I have outdoor rocking chairs. Recently, as we were talking and rocking, it occurred to me how much energy went into pushing that rocker back and forth. Although we cover a great deal of ground discussing the day’s happenings, it also occurred to me that we don’t go anywhere. Rocking always brings you back to the same place you were, despite the amount of energy or effort you put into it.


Think about it. Jesus has been given the authority and power to take our bad situations, our hopeless causes and our terrible messes, and fix them.


God’s Word tells us: “Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me” (Matthew 28:18).


We have no right to make claim on God’s power; He’s not given us the privilege. We insult Jesus when we worry, as God has assured us that Jesus has all things under control. If you’re compelled to worry, remember, the more energy you put into it, the less you’ll accomplish. In the end the problem will still be there. Only time and opportunity will have passed– without you.


“Heavenly Father. I want to trust You more. I know You have the best interest for me and love me, but I can't stop relying on my own strength, depending on what I can see. Help me to rely on You and not myself. God, I need You to break through this cloud of confusion I'm in. In Jesus name, Amen!”

Going

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Commentaires


Going nowhere?





Going nowhere? Both Holly and I have outdoor rocking chairs. Recently, as we were talking and rocking, it occurred to me how much energy went into pushing that rocker back and forth. Although we cover a great deal of ground discussing the day’s happenings, it also occurred to me that we don’t go anywhere. Rocking always brings you back to the same place you were, despite the amount of energy or effort you put into it.


Think about it. Jesus has been given the authority and power to take our bad situations, our hopeless causes and our terrible messes, and fix them.


God’s Word tells us: “Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me” (Matthew 28:18).


We have no right to make claim on God’s power; He’s not given us the privilege. We insult Jesus when we worry, as God has assured us that Jesus has all things under control. If you’re compelled to worry, remember, the more energy you put into it, the less you’ll accomplish. In the end the problem will still be there. Only time and opportunity will have passed– without you.


“Heavenly Father. I want to trust You more. I know You have the best interest for me and love me, but I can't stop relying on my own strength, depending on what I can see. Help me to rely on You and not myself. God, I need You to break through this cloud of confusion I'm in. In Jesus name, Amen!”

Going

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Commentaires


bottom of page