top of page

Giants?

(12.28.21– Looking Forward! –Psalm 118: 1-14)


My friend, may I ask you a question? There's no position you can get into into that you cannot get you out of?



My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.


"Be it therefore resolved!" These words echo in my mind and remind me of the rich and great history God has bestowed upon this nation. These four words describe an attitude, a promise, and a hope. When our founding fathers placed this statement at the end of the Constitution in 1787, they did so in a position of great weakness. England's shadow still loomed menacingly across the Atlantic. In a world awash in material riches and military might, the young nation of the United States was a minor player. Yet, with these four words, a nation embarked upon a path of greatness. "Be it therefore resolved!" With these words, the world's powers were transformed from looming threats to workable challenges. Fear was transformed into hope, anxiety into promise, and uncertainty into commitment. When they put pen to paper in testimony to their resolve, their faith caused a young and searching nation to be bold, to look forward to tomorrow and not aside to any looming threats. There wasn't a man among them who didn't know that tough years lay ahead. Yet, each believed that through faith in God and hard work, it would work out. Somehow these men knew that whatever the situation, the United States would come through, with God's help, somehow.


Here's a story: A Baptist pastor expresses these same thoughts as he was learning to fly. "Some years ago when I was learning to fly my instructor told me to put the plane into a steep and extended dive. I was totally unprepared for what happened. After a brief time the engine stalled, and the plane began to plunge out-of-control. It soon became evident that the instructor wasn't going to help me. After a few seconds, my mind began to function again. I quickly corrected the situation. Immediately I turned to the instructor and began to vent my frustrations on him. He very calmly said to me, 'There's no position you can get this airplane into that I cannot get you out of. If you want to learn to fly, go up there and do it again.' At that moment God seemed to be saying, 'Remember this. As you serve me there's no situation you can get yourself into I cannot get you out of. If you trust me, you will be all right."(James Brown, in Discoveries , Fall, 1991, Vol. 2, No. 4.)


"The Lord is my strength and salvation!" Yes, there are many things that might and probably will go wrong in the coming New Year. It's a certainty. We too are small fry swimming in a sea of giant troubles. But, with trust in almighty God, the God who alone is our strength, we can be "therefore resolved" that, in the end, all of our fears will be vanquished in the sure hope that our lives are in His hands. We can, therefore, in the year to come stand head and shoulders above all turmoil, all grief, all fears. We can be giants of faith because we have a giant God in Your!


We pray. Heavenly Father, with trust in You, the God who alone is our strength, we can be resolved that, in the end, all of our fears will be vanquished in the sure hope that our lives are in His hands. We can in the year to come stand head and shoulders above all turmoil, all grief, all fears. We can be giants of faith because we have a giant God! In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Giants?

(12.28.21– Looking Forward! –Psalm 118: 1-14)


My friend, may I ask you a question? There's no position you can get into into that you cannot get you out of?



My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.


"Be it therefore resolved!" These words echo in my mind and remind me of the rich and great history God has bestowed upon this nation. These four words describe an attitude, a promise, and a hope. When our founding fathers placed this statement at the end of the Constitution in 1787, they did so in a position of great weakness. England's shadow still loomed menacingly across the Atlantic. In a world awash in material riches and military might, the young nation of the United States was a minor player. Yet, with these four words, a nation embarked upon a path of greatness. "Be it therefore resolved!" With these words, the world's powers were transformed from looming threats to workable challenges. Fear was transformed into hope, anxiety into promise, and uncertainty into commitment. When they put pen to paper in testimony to their resolve, their faith caused a young and searching nation to be bold, to look forward to tomorrow and not aside to any looming threats. There wasn't a man among them who didn't know that tough years lay ahead. Yet, each believed that through faith in God and hard work, it would work out. Somehow these men knew that whatever the situation, the United States would come through, with God's help, somehow.


Here's a story: A Baptist pastor expresses these same thoughts as he was learning to fly. "Some years ago when I was learning to fly my instructor told me to put the plane into a steep and extended dive. I was totally unprepared for what happened. After a brief time the engine stalled, and the plane began to plunge out-of-control. It soon became evident that the instructor wasn't going to help me. After a few seconds, my mind began to function again. I quickly corrected the situation. Immediately I turned to the instructor and began to vent my frustrations on him. He very calmly said to me, 'There's no position you can get this airplane into that I cannot get you out of. If you want to learn to fly, go up there and do it again.' At that moment God seemed to be saying, 'Remember this. As you serve me there's no situation you can get yourself into I cannot get you out of. If you trust me, you will be all right."(James Brown, in Discoveries , Fall, 1991, Vol. 2, No. 4.)


"The Lord is my strength and salvation!" Yes, there are many things that might and probably will go wrong in the coming New Year. It's a certainty. We too are small fry swimming in a sea of giant troubles. But, with trust in almighty God, the God who alone is our strength, we can be "therefore resolved" that, in the end, all of our fears will be vanquished in the sure hope that our lives are in His hands. We can, therefore, in the year to come stand head and shoulders above all turmoil, all grief, all fears. We can be giants of faith because we have a giant God in Your!


We pray. Heavenly Father, with trust in You, the God who alone is our strength, we can be resolved that, in the end, all of our fears will be vanquished in the sure hope that our lives are in His hands. We can in the year to come stand head and shoulders above all turmoil, all grief, all fears. We can be giants of faith because we have a giant God! In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page