top of page

Gauges?



Gauges? Pumping gas recently I noticed a sticker on the pump that read: “Gauged accurate by the Department of Agriculture.” It takes a lot of trust in that promise that we’re actually receiving ten gallons. Even the slightest difference might account for hundreds of dollars in fuel not received. Yet, we go on trusting since it’s easier than measuring out the fuel ourselves.     


Think about it. The prejudices we carry through life are like that. There are certain things we’re willing to believe. We trust we’re right and, besides, it’s too much trouble to take the time to measure the evidence. We simply trust no matter the cost or wisdom in doing that.


God’s Word tells us: “‘I have come in My Father's name, and you do not receive Me; if another comes in his own name, him you will receive.’” (John 5:43).


Prejudices invade our lives daily and we pigeon hole them, tolerating and moving on. We don’t weigh their good or measure their impact on our lives. We simply believe them to be true. When it comes to people and other points of view, however, God has provided no neat formula. We are the “weights and measure” people. Our gauge is Scripture, the job of measuring by it is ours.


We pray. “Father, please give me the courage to stand up for Jesus as much in the marketplace as I do when I am around other believers. Help me to measure others by Scripture and not prejudices. Make my witness consistent as well as sensitive to those around me. In the name of your Son and my Savior, I pray. Amen. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Kommentare


Gauges?



Gauges? Pumping gas recently I noticed a sticker on the pump that read: “Gauged accurate by the Department of Agriculture.” It takes a lot of trust in that promise that we’re actually receiving ten gallons. Even the slightest difference might account for hundreds of dollars in fuel not received. Yet, we go on trusting since it’s easier than measuring out the fuel ourselves.     


Think about it. The prejudices we carry through life are like that. There are certain things we’re willing to believe. We trust we’re right and, besides, it’s too much trouble to take the time to measure the evidence. We simply trust no matter the cost or wisdom in doing that.


God’s Word tells us: “‘I have come in My Father's name, and you do not receive Me; if another comes in his own name, him you will receive.’” (John 5:43).


Prejudices invade our lives daily and we pigeon hole them, tolerating and moving on. We don’t weigh their good or measure their impact on our lives. We simply believe them to be true. When it comes to people and other points of view, however, God has provided no neat formula. We are the “weights and measure” people. Our gauge is Scripture, the job of measuring by it is ours.


We pray. “Father, please give me the courage to stand up for Jesus as much in the marketplace as I do when I am around other believers. Help me to measure others by Scripture and not prejudices. Make my witness consistent as well as sensitive to those around me. In the name of your Son and my Savior, I pray. Amen. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Kommentare


bottom of page