top of page

Forgiveness?

03.09.21—A Path For Others!-Titus 2:11


My friend, may I ask you a question? The thing about grace that makes it so difficult to grasp is that there are times when someone needs to step up and take the first step without a guarantee of something in return?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner



“That’s not fair! I did them last time and you didn’t help!” I remember years ago listening to two of my children confront each other on whose turn it was to do the dishes, no kid’s favorite job to do after dinner was done and the evening’s pleasures beckoned. Both felt that they were right and neither was going to give in a that moment. That’s when they turned their attention to me. Looking to me to solve the problem, I suddenly felt like a poor substitute for the wisdom of Solomon. So, I did the next best thing I could think of; I reached for one of my often over-used wise sayings. “Well, someone has to take the lead and do the right thing.” I said. “It’s a two-way street, and someone has to start walking down it.” That’s when Dan said, “Ok. I’ll do them.” Shortly after that Hannah said she’d help. Grace abounded and the dishes got done.


The thing about grace that makes it so difficult to grasp is that there are times when someone needs to step up and take the first step without a guarantee of something in return.


Here’s a story: Michael Reagan is the adopted son of the late, former president, Ronald Reagan. For years he and the president never exchanged hugs or said “I love you”. For years it troubled Michael that his father never hugged him or said that he loved him. “Then one day,” said Michael, “I was praying, and it was almost as though God was sitting there with me, asking me when was the last time I told my dad I loved him or had given him a hug. I realized it was a two- way street.” After Michael told his father that he loved him, then for the first time he heard from his Ronald’s lips that he was loved. Years later, after being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, Michael’s dad sometimes didn’t recognize him or know his name but would give Michael a hug when he arrived or left. Once, Michael had forgotten to give his dad their usual good-bye hug. As he walked down the driveway he turned around and there was his father, standing in the drive- way with his arms wide open waiting for that hug. (Peter Kennedy--adapted)


It isn’t always easy to be the first one to do something in any relationship that is broken. Nevertheless, when we are reminded of how God took the first step of reconciliation in a relationship that we had broken by our sin, His example of unmerited love ought to motivate us to approach others with a hug and an “I love you!” even when it seems they don’t deserve it. Taking the first step when others hurt us, offering a path of love and forgiveness to travel on, is what being a Christian is all about.


We pray. Heavenly Father. It isn’t always easy to be the first one to do something in any relationship that is broken. Nevertheless, when we are reminded of how You took the first step of reconciliation in a relationship that we have broken by our sin, Your example of unmerited love ought to motivate us to approach others with a hug and an “I love you!” even when it seems they don’t deserve it. Taking the first step when others hurt us, offering a path of love and forgiveness to travel on, is what being a Christian is all about. We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Forgiveness?

03.09.21—A Path For Others!-Titus 2:11


My friend, may I ask you a question? The thing about grace that makes it so difficult to grasp is that there are times when someone needs to step up and take the first step without a guarantee of something in return?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner



“That’s not fair! I did them last time and you didn’t help!” I remember years ago listening to two of my children confront each other on whose turn it was to do the dishes, no kid’s favorite job to do after dinner was done and the evening’s pleasures beckoned. Both felt that they were right and neither was going to give in a that moment. That’s when they turned their attention to me. Looking to me to solve the problem, I suddenly felt like a poor substitute for the wisdom of Solomon. So, I did the next best thing I could think of; I reached for one of my often over-used wise sayings. “Well, someone has to take the lead and do the right thing.” I said. “It’s a two-way street, and someone has to start walking down it.” That’s when Dan said, “Ok. I’ll do them.” Shortly after that Hannah said she’d help. Grace abounded and the dishes got done.


The thing about grace that makes it so difficult to grasp is that there are times when someone needs to step up and take the first step without a guarantee of something in return.


Here’s a story: Michael Reagan is the adopted son of the late, former president, Ronald Reagan. For years he and the president never exchanged hugs or said “I love you”. For years it troubled Michael that his father never hugged him or said that he loved him. “Then one day,” said Michael, “I was praying, and it was almost as though God was sitting there with me, asking me when was the last time I told my dad I loved him or had given him a hug. I realized it was a two- way street.” After Michael told his father that he loved him, then for the first time he heard from his Ronald’s lips that he was loved. Years later, after being diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease, Michael’s dad sometimes didn’t recognize him or know his name but would give Michael a hug when he arrived or left. Once, Michael had forgotten to give his dad their usual good-bye hug. As he walked down the driveway he turned around and there was his father, standing in the drive- way with his arms wide open waiting for that hug. (Peter Kennedy--adapted)


It isn’t always easy to be the first one to do something in any relationship that is broken. Nevertheless, when we are reminded of how God took the first step of reconciliation in a relationship that we had broken by our sin, His example of unmerited love ought to motivate us to approach others with a hug and an “I love you!” even when it seems they don’t deserve it. Taking the first step when others hurt us, offering a path of love and forgiveness to travel on, is what being a Christian is all about.


We pray. Heavenly Father. It isn’t always easy to be the first one to do something in any relationship that is broken. Nevertheless, when we are reminded of how You took the first step of reconciliation in a relationship that we have broken by our sin, Your example of unmerited love ought to motivate us to approach others with a hug and an “I love you!” even when it seems they don’t deserve it. Taking the first step when others hurt us, offering a path of love and forgiveness to travel on, is what being a Christian is all about. We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page