top of page

DIY Christianity?






DIY Christianity? I’ve always been a person that likes to do things on his own. Whether it’s due to an independent spirit or stubborn streak a mile long, doing things my way was always the first choice.

     

Think about it. And that is the way with men; the do-it-yourself Christian, the one with all the answers. Is that kind of Christian that Jesus is constantly pulling out of the pit of self-importance? 

       

God’s Word tells us: “Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority” (John 14:10).


Typically we want to do all we can to make things happen for good in our lives; and we want to do it ourselves in our own way. Things usually get sticky when that happens. Since our skills are limited, doing all we can usually means not enough. Jesus was content to let God do all he could do before doing it himself. Don’t wait to get rescued as a last resort; submit to God and watch things come together the right way.


We pray. “Father, thank You for this wonderful word of comfort. Enable me, in the power of the Spirit, to hold fast to the truth of Your Word. I pray that You would endow me the wisdom, the words, and the grace, to pour forth Your comfort to others who are facing their own difficult trials. In Jesus name. Amen!”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


DIY Christianity?






DIY Christianity? I’ve always been a person that likes to do things on his own. Whether it’s due to an independent spirit or stubborn streak a mile long, doing things my way was always the first choice.

     

Think about it. And that is the way with men; the do-it-yourself Christian, the one with all the answers. Is that kind of Christian that Jesus is constantly pulling out of the pit of self-importance? 

       

God’s Word tells us: “Don’t you believe that I am in the Father, and that the Father is in me? The words I say to you I do not speak on my own authority” (John 14:10).


Typically we want to do all we can to make things happen for good in our lives; and we want to do it ourselves in our own way. Things usually get sticky when that happens. Since our skills are limited, doing all we can usually means not enough. Jesus was content to let God do all he could do before doing it himself. Don’t wait to get rescued as a last resort; submit to God and watch things come together the right way.


We pray. “Father, thank You for this wonderful word of comfort. Enable me, in the power of the Spirit, to hold fast to the truth of Your Word. I pray that You would endow me the wisdom, the words, and the grace, to pour forth Your comfort to others who are facing their own difficult trials. In Jesus name. Amen!”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page