top of page

Cutting corners?



Cutting corners? The older I get, the more I realize I'm often my own worst enemy, cutting corners to save time. Years ago, I laid carpet before installing molding, thinking I’d fix it later. Recently, removing the carpet caused it to unravel, a problem caused by my shortcuts. If I hadn’t cut corners, it would've fared better.


Think about it. Cutting corners is problematic. And, when it comes to government, many today believe that America is a nation in great trouble. Could it be that cutting corners has put us there?


God’s Word tells us: “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken (Ecclesiastes 4:12).”


Despite America's strong military and economy, many Americans, including Christians, feel pessimistic. A recent Gallup Poll showed 78% doubted America's survival in the balance of the 21st century, with over 65% fearing internal issues. For Christians, this "rot from within" may signify a nation drifting from God. If we've been "cutting corners" in faith, the Piper must be paid.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, help us to let go of our stubbornness and embrace the strength found in unity. Bind us together with Your love, making our relationships resilient and unbreakable. May we always remember that, with You at our center, we are stronger together.  In Jesus Christ name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Cutting corners?



Cutting corners? The older I get, the more I realize I'm often my own worst enemy, cutting corners to save time. Years ago, I laid carpet before installing molding, thinking I’d fix it later. Recently, removing the carpet caused it to unravel, a problem caused by my shortcuts. If I hadn’t cut corners, it would've fared better.


Think about it. Cutting corners is problematic. And, when it comes to government, many today believe that America is a nation in great trouble. Could it be that cutting corners has put us there?


God’s Word tells us: “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken (Ecclesiastes 4:12).”


Despite America's strong military and economy, many Americans, including Christians, feel pessimistic. A recent Gallup Poll showed 78% doubted America's survival in the balance of the 21st century, with over 65% fearing internal issues. For Christians, this "rot from within" may signify a nation drifting from God. If we've been "cutting corners" in faith, the Piper must be paid.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, help us to let go of our stubbornness and embrace the strength found in unity. Bind us together with Your love, making our relationships resilient and unbreakable. May we always remember that, with You at our center, we are stronger together.  In Jesus Christ name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page