top of page

Cockleburs?

(0511.21 – Problems -Numbers 16:13-14)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Christians, just calming down and moving forward in the right direction is often the best choice. Is it sometimes best to move on rather than sit around complaining and being indecisive?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




A number of years ago we took a family vacation to the upper Great Lakes and Canada. We were towing our old Airstream trailer and as long as we kept to the normal highways with two to four lanes of traffic, I was pretty comfort- able pulling 25' of trailer and over 6,000 pounds of trailer and gear behind me. That is until we drove down into one of the busiest cities in Canada, Toronto. In order to turn east and follow along the shores of the eastern Great Lakes, we needed to pass right through downtown Toronto. What was four turned into six and then eight lanes. Suddenly I found myself in a huge interchange surrounded by hundreds of speeding trucks and cars. I knew I was headed in the right direction, but I sure had my doubts about all the lane decisions I had to make in order to get out of that city and to my destination. For a while I really felt that I had made a terrible mistake. Would I ever find my way out of this maze of traffic? But, in a matter of a few minutes, I discovered that what I felt had been a pretty difficult thing was a lot easier than I thought. I just needed to keep going and not make the problem bigger than it was.


When it comes to many of the problems in life that confront us as Christians, just calming down and moving forward in the right direction is often the best choice. Sometimes it's best to move on rather than sit around complaining and being indecisive.


Here's a story: There's an old Ozark story about a hound sitting in a country store and howling as hounds do. In comes a stranger who just can't figure out why the old hound kept on howling. So the stranger walks over to a nearby clerk and with a puzzled look asked "Why." The clerk merely smiled and not even looking up from his work replied: "T'aint nothin' wrong with him at all. Fact is, he's just sitting on a cocklebur." "Well, why doesn't he just get off?" Said the stranger, a bit perturbed. To which the clerk matter-of-factly replied: "I guess he'd just rather holler." (Bits and Pieces, May, 1990, p. 20.)


Most of life's problems are like those confusing freeway interchanges. At first it doesn't look like there's a way out but eventually there is. The same seems to be true when it comes to trusting in God when things get tough. Unfortunately, we often lose faith and begin to doubt about God’s ability to get us through based solely on our perception of what isn't difficult for Him to do. Like that hound sitting on a cocklebur, we cry out in frustration only to discover that if we just moved on, the problem might be solved. God's will is that we just keep on driving and watching the road. When problems arise, forge ahead in faith. Cockleburs stop hurting when we decide to leave them behind.


We pray. Heavenly Father, most of life's problems are confusing. Help us Lord when it comes to trusting You when things get tough. Forgive. us Lord, when we so often lose faith and begin to doubt about Your ability to get us through based solely on our perception of what isn't difficult for You to do. Like that hound sitting on a cocklebur, we cry out in frustration only to discover that if we just moved on, the problem might be solved. Your will is that we just keep on going. When problems arise, help us to forge ahead in faith. Cockleburs stop hurting when we decide to leave them behind. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Cockleburs?

(0511.21 – Problems -Numbers 16:13-14)



My friend, may I ask you a question? Christians, just calming down and moving forward in the right direction is often the best choice. Is it sometimes best to move on rather than sit around complaining and being indecisive?


My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.




A number of years ago we took a family vacation to the upper Great Lakes and Canada. We were towing our old Airstream trailer and as long as we kept to the normal highways with two to four lanes of traffic, I was pretty comfort- able pulling 25' of trailer and over 6,000 pounds of trailer and gear behind me. That is until we drove down into one of the busiest cities in Canada, Toronto. In order to turn east and follow along the shores of the eastern Great Lakes, we needed to pass right through downtown Toronto. What was four turned into six and then eight lanes. Suddenly I found myself in a huge interchange surrounded by hundreds of speeding trucks and cars. I knew I was headed in the right direction, but I sure had my doubts about all the lane decisions I had to make in order to get out of that city and to my destination. For a while I really felt that I had made a terrible mistake. Would I ever find my way out of this maze of traffic? But, in a matter of a few minutes, I discovered that what I felt had been a pretty difficult thing was a lot easier than I thought. I just needed to keep going and not make the problem bigger than it was.


When it comes to many of the problems in life that confront us as Christians, just calming down and moving forward in the right direction is often the best choice. Sometimes it's best to move on rather than sit around complaining and being indecisive.


Here's a story: There's an old Ozark story about a hound sitting in a country store and howling as hounds do. In comes a stranger who just can't figure out why the old hound kept on howling. So the stranger walks over to a nearby clerk and with a puzzled look asked "Why." The clerk merely smiled and not even looking up from his work replied: "T'aint nothin' wrong with him at all. Fact is, he's just sitting on a cocklebur." "Well, why doesn't he just get off?" Said the stranger, a bit perturbed. To which the clerk matter-of-factly replied: "I guess he'd just rather holler." (Bits and Pieces, May, 1990, p. 20.)


Most of life's problems are like those confusing freeway interchanges. At first it doesn't look like there's a way out but eventually there is. The same seems to be true when it comes to trusting in God when things get tough. Unfortunately, we often lose faith and begin to doubt about God’s ability to get us through based solely on our perception of what isn't difficult for Him to do. Like that hound sitting on a cocklebur, we cry out in frustration only to discover that if we just moved on, the problem might be solved. God's will is that we just keep on driving and watching the road. When problems arise, forge ahead in faith. Cockleburs stop hurting when we decide to leave them behind.


We pray. Heavenly Father, most of life's problems are confusing. Help us Lord when it comes to trusting You when things get tough. Forgive. us Lord, when we so often lose faith and begin to doubt about Your ability to get us through based solely on our perception of what isn't difficult for You to do. Like that hound sitting on a cocklebur, we cry out in frustration only to discover that if we just moved on, the problem might be solved. Your will is that we just keep on going. When problems arise, help us to forge ahead in faith. Cockleburs stop hurting when we decide to leave them behind. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page