top of page

Burn-on?

(06.11.21– Burn Out -Haggai 1:5-11)

My friend, may I ask you a question? We could go either way in life–burnout or burn-on.How much depends on our perspective of what is needed–a sit-down with a good book and a nap or a trip to the psychiatrist?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.


I'm a nut about campfires. Since we camp a lot, I guess that I need to be. One thing that I've discovered is that there is a point with every fire where you reach that crossroads of "half-empty" or "half-full." It's the critical juncture where the fire could either go out or, with a poke or a shove here or there, rekindle. This is the point at which the fire could go either way and it is a matter of thinking which way, it's almost dead or almost there, that determines what you are going to do with the fire--either stoke it or add more wood.


In a way our lives are sort of like that campfire. We go along full of energy and then we come to a point where we start to feel in need of something. We could go either way–burnout or burn-on. Much depends on our perspective of what is needed–a sit-down with a good book and a nap or a trip to the psychiatrist.


Here's a thought from Chuck Swindoll: "The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, the education, the money, than circumstances, than failure, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, "giftedness" or skill. It will make or break a company, a church, a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past; we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is to play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me, and 90% of how I react to it. And so it is with you. We are in charge of our attitudes." (Charles R. Swindoll)

Sometimes, when we are feeling burned-out, it's really a matter of discovering for ourselves whether or not we are a smoldering fire in need of a whole lot of attention or a promising fire, able to rekindle with just a bit of tender care. Like that fire that is nearly going out or possibly ready to be rekindled, you and I face those critical moments every day when we can go either way, toward burn-out or endurance. We choose to take one direction over another. It really isn't a matter of chance. It has everything to do with choice. Choosing to endure, to re-stoke the fires of ambition and purpose, is always an alternative. Burning-out or burning on is up to you. It really is a matter of attitude. If we focus on "up-look" rather than outlook, God's heaven is always more promising than these natural surroundings. If you think you can, you probably will. You are in charge of your attitude, even when everything around you is out of control.


We pray. Heavenly Father, choosing to endure, to re-stoke the fires of ambition and purpose, is the best alternative in this life. And I know it is up to me to make that decision. Lord, Your Word tells me that It really is a matter of attitude. Forgive me when my attitude is pore and I allow myself to let the fires of faith and endurance burnout. Help me by Your Spirit to focus on "up-look" rather than outlook, Your heaven is always more promising than these natural surroundings I live in. If I think I can, I probably will be able to. Continue to remind me Father that I am in charge of my attitude, even when everything around me is out of control. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Bình luận


Burn-on?

(06.11.21– Burn Out -Haggai 1:5-11)

My friend, may I ask you a question? We could go either way in life–burnout or burn-on.How much depends on our perspective of what is needed–a sit-down with a good book and a nap or a trip to the psychiatrist?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.


I'm a nut about campfires. Since we camp a lot, I guess that I need to be. One thing that I've discovered is that there is a point with every fire where you reach that crossroads of "half-empty" or "half-full." It's the critical juncture where the fire could either go out or, with a poke or a shove here or there, rekindle. This is the point at which the fire could go either way and it is a matter of thinking which way, it's almost dead or almost there, that determines what you are going to do with the fire--either stoke it or add more wood.


In a way our lives are sort of like that campfire. We go along full of energy and then we come to a point where we start to feel in need of something. We could go either way–burnout or burn-on. Much depends on our perspective of what is needed–a sit-down with a good book and a nap or a trip to the psychiatrist.


Here's a thought from Chuck Swindoll: "The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life. Attitude, to me, is more important than facts. It is more important than the past, the education, the money, than circumstances, than failure, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. It is more important than appearance, "giftedness" or skill. It will make or break a company, a church, a home. The remarkable thing is we have a choice everyday regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past; we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is to play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me, and 90% of how I react to it. And so it is with you. We are in charge of our attitudes." (Charles R. Swindoll)

Sometimes, when we are feeling burned-out, it's really a matter of discovering for ourselves whether or not we are a smoldering fire in need of a whole lot of attention or a promising fire, able to rekindle with just a bit of tender care. Like that fire that is nearly going out or possibly ready to be rekindled, you and I face those critical moments every day when we can go either way, toward burn-out or endurance. We choose to take one direction over another. It really isn't a matter of chance. It has everything to do with choice. Choosing to endure, to re-stoke the fires of ambition and purpose, is always an alternative. Burning-out or burning on is up to you. It really is a matter of attitude. If we focus on "up-look" rather than outlook, God's heaven is always more promising than these natural surroundings. If you think you can, you probably will. You are in charge of your attitude, even when everything around you is out of control.


We pray. Heavenly Father, choosing to endure, to re-stoke the fires of ambition and purpose, is the best alternative in this life. And I know it is up to me to make that decision. Lord, Your Word tells me that It really is a matter of attitude. Forgive me when my attitude is pore and I allow myself to let the fires of faith and endurance burnout. Help me by Your Spirit to focus on "up-look" rather than outlook, Your heaven is always more promising than these natural surroundings I live in. If I think I can, I probably will be able to. Continue to remind me Father that I am in charge of my attitude, even when everything around me is out of control. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Bình luận


bottom of page