top of page

Burdened?

01.29.21—Keep Pedaling – Ezekiel 34: 31


My friend, may I ask you a question? Burdened? Isn’t that how we often act toward God; thinking we can do it alone, when His help would make it a whole lot easier?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner





I recently bought a remnant roll of carpeting at a local discount store and had it loaded into the old Suburban by two young clerks. Arriving home, I opened the back doors of the truck and eyed the roll carefully. It took two guys to lift it into the truck and I wondered if I would be able to unload as easily. “Let’s see. They looked like they were in their early twenties. If you added their ages together they still would be short of my fifty-six years by a decade.” That logic in mind, I began sliding the carpeting out of the truck. That’s when my son spied me pulling and tugging. The next thing I knew the roll came sliding out a little more quickly than I thought. As it turned out, Dan was now at the other end pushing as I was pulling. I guess my calculations were more a matter of pride than of the practical.

Isn’t that how we often act toward God; thinking we can do it alone, when His help would make it a whole lot easier?


Here’s a story: When she was young, my mom worked on a sheep farm alongside a kindly shepherd. One day, she found a young orphaned lamb. Realizing it would have to be brought back to the farmhouse, she picked it up and began carry- ing it despite the shepherd’s offer of help. It started to rain and the field became muddier, making it difficult to walk. The rain penetrated the lamb’s woolen coat, making it heavy and soggy. As the weight of the lamb became greater, the shepherd renewed his offer. Eventually, after a long struggle, all three reached the comfort and warmth of the farmhouse. Years later, my mom would tell us this story over and over again, always ending it with the phrase, “If it wasn’t for the good shepherd helping me, I could never have saved that poor little lamb.” It was a lesson that I never forgot. (John Stuart)


God is our Good Shepherd, and we are His sheep, the flock of His pasture. In the midst of our struggles with life, He will carry us to safety. The Bible promises that He will neither leave us nor forsake us. Yet, even with His help only a prayer away, we often decide that we can do it alone. Are there burdens in your life that you’re carrying today? Maybe even you think you’re doing a good job. Remember this, when the storms of life come, He’s promised to be there to carry the load. We can still pull, but His push makes it a whole lot easier!


We pray. Heavenly Father. You are our Good Shepherd, and we are Your sheep, the flock of Your pasture. In the midst of our struggles with life, You have promised to carry us to safety. Your Word promises that You will neither leave us nor forsake us. Yet, even with Your help only a prayer away, we often decide that we can do it alone. Forgive us Lord. Take the burdens in my life and carry them for me today. I know that I am not doing a good job on my own. When the storms of life come, I am blessed in the promise that you will be there to carry the load. I can still pull, but Your push makes it a whole lot easier! We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

ความคิดเห็น


Burdened?

01.29.21—Keep Pedaling – Ezekiel 34: 31


My friend, may I ask you a question? Burdened? Isn’t that how we often act toward God; thinking we can do it alone, when His help would make it a whole lot easier?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner





I recently bought a remnant roll of carpeting at a local discount store and had it loaded into the old Suburban by two young clerks. Arriving home, I opened the back doors of the truck and eyed the roll carefully. It took two guys to lift it into the truck and I wondered if I would be able to unload as easily. “Let’s see. They looked like they were in their early twenties. If you added their ages together they still would be short of my fifty-six years by a decade.” That logic in mind, I began sliding the carpeting out of the truck. That’s when my son spied me pulling and tugging. The next thing I knew the roll came sliding out a little more quickly than I thought. As it turned out, Dan was now at the other end pushing as I was pulling. I guess my calculations were more a matter of pride than of the practical.

Isn’t that how we often act toward God; thinking we can do it alone, when His help would make it a whole lot easier?


Here’s a story: When she was young, my mom worked on a sheep farm alongside a kindly shepherd. One day, she found a young orphaned lamb. Realizing it would have to be brought back to the farmhouse, she picked it up and began carry- ing it despite the shepherd’s offer of help. It started to rain and the field became muddier, making it difficult to walk. The rain penetrated the lamb’s woolen coat, making it heavy and soggy. As the weight of the lamb became greater, the shepherd renewed his offer. Eventually, after a long struggle, all three reached the comfort and warmth of the farmhouse. Years later, my mom would tell us this story over and over again, always ending it with the phrase, “If it wasn’t for the good shepherd helping me, I could never have saved that poor little lamb.” It was a lesson that I never forgot. (John Stuart)


God is our Good Shepherd, and we are His sheep, the flock of His pasture. In the midst of our struggles with life, He will carry us to safety. The Bible promises that He will neither leave us nor forsake us. Yet, even with His help only a prayer away, we often decide that we can do it alone. Are there burdens in your life that you’re carrying today? Maybe even you think you’re doing a good job. Remember this, when the storms of life come, He’s promised to be there to carry the load. We can still pull, but His push makes it a whole lot easier!


We pray. Heavenly Father. You are our Good Shepherd, and we are Your sheep, the flock of Your pasture. In the midst of our struggles with life, You have promised to carry us to safety. Your Word promises that You will neither leave us nor forsake us. Yet, even with Your help only a prayer away, we often decide that we can do it alone. Forgive us Lord. Take the burdens in my life and carry them for me today. I know that I am not doing a good job on my own. When the storms of life come, I am blessed in the promise that you will be there to carry the load. I can still pull, but Your push makes it a whole lot easier! We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page