top of page

Brotherhood?



Brotherhood? When Jesus rose from the dead, he brought with Him a new idea of brotherhood. With His resurrection His disciples graduated from followers to brothers.    

 

Think about it. His resurrection had given birth to a new brotherhood, a new oneness that would now tie Jew to Gentile, Greek to Roman, and Samaritan to Hebrew.


God’s Word tells us: “Jesus said, ‘Do not hold on to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father. Go instead to my brothers and tell them, 'I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God. '” (John 20:10-15).


When we treat one another badly, in word or deed, it would be as if we did it to our own flesh and blood. This is unacceptable in a family; it is unacceptable in the family of Christ. “Love one another as I have loved you!” This is our divine instruction. Brothers and sisters, take up the sword for one another–to defend and not tear down. As a member of Christ’s family, there is no other choice. Christianity is a blood relationship.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, thank You for calling us brothers and daughters in You. Remind us daily what it means for You to be in us, and we in You. May we always be mindful of the the new bonds You created in us on Easter morning. Help us to regard others in the same way. In Jesus' name, I pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comentarios


Brotherhood?



Brotherhood? When Jesus rose from the dead, he brought with Him a new idea of brotherhood. With His resurrection His disciples graduated from followers to brothers.    

 

Think about it. His resurrection had given birth to a new brotherhood, a new oneness that would now tie Jew to Gentile, Greek to Roman, and Samaritan to Hebrew.


God’s Word tells us: “Jesus said, ‘Do not hold on to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father. Go instead to my brothers and tell them, 'I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God. '” (John 20:10-15).


When we treat one another badly, in word or deed, it would be as if we did it to our own flesh and blood. This is unacceptable in a family; it is unacceptable in the family of Christ. “Love one another as I have loved you!” This is our divine instruction. Brothers and sisters, take up the sword for one another–to defend and not tear down. As a member of Christ’s family, there is no other choice. Christianity is a blood relationship.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, thank You for calling us brothers and daughters in You. Remind us daily what it means for You to be in us, and we in You. May we always be mindful of the the new bonds You created in us on Easter morning. Help us to regard others in the same way. In Jesus' name, I pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comentarios


bottom of page