top of page

Broken fences?





Broken fences? I grew up in a neighborhood decades ago where everyone knew everyone. People walked next door just to see how you were doing. They gathered in yards around picnic tables and lawn chairs for no good reason at all. I long for the neighborliness of days gone by.


Think about it. Today is it because we no longer need one another that we find being neighbors so difficult? Or, is it something much more defining, more essential to life itself, that is missing?


God’s Word tells us: “‘Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?’ The expert in the law replied, ‘The one who had mercy on him.’ Jesus told him, ‘Go and do likewise.’” (Luke 10:29).


The people who lived on our block decades ago loved one another; therefore they needed one another and made it their purpose to be neighbors. If we long for neighbors, the first place we need to search is within and not without. Neighborliness is more about broken hearts than broken fences.


“Heavenly Father, forgive me for trying to make myself look righteous when righteousness comes from you. Forgive me for posturing that has kept me from opening my heart up completely to your grace and from living my life in honor of that grace. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


Broken fences?





Broken fences? I grew up in a neighborhood decades ago where everyone knew everyone. People walked next door just to see how you were doing. They gathered in yards around picnic tables and lawn chairs for no good reason at all. I long for the neighborliness of days gone by.


Think about it. Today is it because we no longer need one another that we find being neighbors so difficult? Or, is it something much more defining, more essential to life itself, that is missing?


God’s Word tells us: “‘Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?’ The expert in the law replied, ‘The one who had mercy on him.’ Jesus told him, ‘Go and do likewise.’” (Luke 10:29).


The people who lived on our block decades ago loved one another; therefore they needed one another and made it their purpose to be neighbors. If we long for neighbors, the first place we need to search is within and not without. Neighborliness is more about broken hearts than broken fences.


“Heavenly Father, forgive me for trying to make myself look righteous when righteousness comes from you. Forgive me for posturing that has kept me from opening my heart up completely to your grace and from living my life in honor of that grace. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com

Comments


bottom of page