top of page

Bet on it?



Bet on it? Certain I had the needed folder in my portfolio for an important meeting, as I left for an important meeting I dismissed my wife’s reminder to check if I had the right one. Arriving at the meeting, I discovered I’d grabbed the wrong portfolio. Regret flooded me as I realized I should have listened to her. My certainty had been misplaced.


Think about it. That’s human nature. Often we feel so sure about our own abilities to make things happen when, in fact, only God really has that ability.


God’s Word tells us: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart; and don’t lean on your own understanding. In all ways acknowledge him, and He will direct your paths (Proverbs 3:5-6).”


It’s easy to make assumptions about the path we are on, especially when our confidence is based on self-confidence. If God has not enlightened us, we may make the wrong choices. Our choices seem right at the time, but later we discover these choices have led us away from God because they were based on our reasoning. Acknowledge God and lean completely on Him to reveal His direction for your life. He’ll direct you to the desired destination. Bet on it!


We pray. “Heavenly Father, grant me humility and the wisdom to heed others' guidance, especially in moments of certainty. Help me to listen and double-check, avoiding misplaced confidence. May I learn from my mistakes and grow in discernment and patience. In the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

コメント


Bet on it?



Bet on it? Certain I had the needed folder in my portfolio for an important meeting, as I left for an important meeting I dismissed my wife’s reminder to check if I had the right one. Arriving at the meeting, I discovered I’d grabbed the wrong portfolio. Regret flooded me as I realized I should have listened to her. My certainty had been misplaced.


Think about it. That’s human nature. Often we feel so sure about our own abilities to make things happen when, in fact, only God really has that ability.


God’s Word tells us: “Trust in the LORD with all your heart; and don’t lean on your own understanding. In all ways acknowledge him, and He will direct your paths (Proverbs 3:5-6).”


It’s easy to make assumptions about the path we are on, especially when our confidence is based on self-confidence. If God has not enlightened us, we may make the wrong choices. Our choices seem right at the time, but later we discover these choices have led us away from God because they were based on our reasoning. Acknowledge God and lean completely on Him to reveal His direction for your life. He’ll direct you to the desired destination. Bet on it!


We pray. “Heavenly Father, grant me humility and the wisdom to heed others' guidance, especially in moments of certainty. Help me to listen and double-check, avoiding misplaced confidence. May I learn from my mistakes and grow in discernment and patience. In the name of Jesus Christ. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

コメント


bottom of page