top of page

Bad things?

03.17.21—Affliction! -- Acts 7:60



My friend, may I ask you a question? When bad things happen to God’s people, it’s easy to feel the sharp side of the hurt, isn’t it? Is that our only option?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner


Recently my wife was called away on an emergency and had left a frozen packages of beef stew meat on the counter with instructions for preparation. Happy to oblige, I reached for the large knife that we most often use to pare meat and the paring began. Since the stew would cook more quickly if the pieces of meat were smaller, I was careful with my cuts until, plop, one errant piece of beef ended up on the floor beside my foot. Mindful that the dogs would be on that in but a few seconds, I quickly dropped my knife and grabbed the meat. Meat rescued, I began to reach for the knife even before my eyes had left the gaze of the hungry wiener dog prowling at my feet. Suddenly I was gripped with instant pain. In my hurry to regain my cutting rhythm, I had grabbed the knife by the blade and not the handle. What had felt so comfortable to me but moments before, now felt extremely uncomfortable. I would have been better off sacrificing the piece of meat.


Affliction in our lives is like that knife; it either serves us or cuts us depending upon how we choose to grasp it-- by the blade or the handle. It really is a matter of perspective. This verse of poetic prose really gives us a good idea of what I mean. “My life is but a weaving between my Lord and me. I cannot choose the colors, He does so steadily. Oft times He weaves in sorrow and I in foolish pride, forget He sees the upper and I the underside. Not till the loom is silent and the shuttle ceases to fly, shall God unroll the canvas and explain the reason why. (Source Unknown.)


When bad things happen to God’s people, it’s easy to feel the sharp side of the hurt, isn’t it? Yet, when we keep the hurt and the pain in perspective, hold it by the handle and not the blade as it were, the sting is not apparent, only the opportunity. Many early Christians were glad to suffer for the sake of Christ. They held the knife by the handle and not the blade. Each of us should learn that lesson well. God knows best the path we need to take in this life and often that path may lead through a place of pain or sorrow. He sees the whole picture and we see but a glimpse. The blessing lies in the fact that someday it will all make sense; if only we have the patience to hold the hurt by the handle and not the blade.

We pray. Heavenly Father. When bad things happen to God’s people, people like me, it’s easy to feel the sharp side of the hurt. Yet, Lord, when we keep the hurt and the pain in perspective, hold it by the handle and not the blade as it were, the sting is not apparent, only the opportunity. Forgive us Lord when we don’t look at misfortune and affliction in that light. Teach us by Your Spirit to learn this lesson well. That You know the best the path we need to take in this life and often that path may lead through a place of pain or sorrow. You see the whole picture and we see but a glimpse. The blessing lies in the fact that someday it will all make sense; if only we have the patience to hold the hurt by the handle and not the blade. We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


Bad things?

03.17.21—Affliction! -- Acts 7:60



My friend, may I ask you a question? When bad things happen to God’s people, it’s easy to feel the sharp side of the hurt, isn’t it? Is that our only option?


My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I’m M. Clifford Brunner


Recently my wife was called away on an emergency and had left a frozen packages of beef stew meat on the counter with instructions for preparation. Happy to oblige, I reached for the large knife that we most often use to pare meat and the paring began. Since the stew would cook more quickly if the pieces of meat were smaller, I was careful with my cuts until, plop, one errant piece of beef ended up on the floor beside my foot. Mindful that the dogs would be on that in but a few seconds, I quickly dropped my knife and grabbed the meat. Meat rescued, I began to reach for the knife even before my eyes had left the gaze of the hungry wiener dog prowling at my feet. Suddenly I was gripped with instant pain. In my hurry to regain my cutting rhythm, I had grabbed the knife by the blade and not the handle. What had felt so comfortable to me but moments before, now felt extremely uncomfortable. I would have been better off sacrificing the piece of meat.


Affliction in our lives is like that knife; it either serves us or cuts us depending upon how we choose to grasp it-- by the blade or the handle. It really is a matter of perspective. This verse of poetic prose really gives us a good idea of what I mean. “My life is but a weaving between my Lord and me. I cannot choose the colors, He does so steadily. Oft times He weaves in sorrow and I in foolish pride, forget He sees the upper and I the underside. Not till the loom is silent and the shuttle ceases to fly, shall God unroll the canvas and explain the reason why. (Source Unknown.)


When bad things happen to God’s people, it’s easy to feel the sharp side of the hurt, isn’t it? Yet, when we keep the hurt and the pain in perspective, hold it by the handle and not the blade as it were, the sting is not apparent, only the opportunity. Many early Christians were glad to suffer for the sake of Christ. They held the knife by the handle and not the blade. Each of us should learn that lesson well. God knows best the path we need to take in this life and often that path may lead through a place of pain or sorrow. He sees the whole picture and we see but a glimpse. The blessing lies in the fact that someday it will all make sense; if only we have the patience to hold the hurt by the handle and not the blade.

We pray. Heavenly Father. When bad things happen to God’s people, people like me, it’s easy to feel the sharp side of the hurt. Yet, Lord, when we keep the hurt and the pain in perspective, hold it by the handle and not the blade as it were, the sting is not apparent, only the opportunity. Forgive us Lord when we don’t look at misfortune and affliction in that light. Teach us by Your Spirit to learn this lesson well. That You know the best the path we need to take in this life and often that path may lead through a place of pain or sorrow. You see the whole picture and we see but a glimpse. The blessing lies in the fact that someday it will all make sense; if only we have the patience to hold the hurt by the handle and not the blade. We pray this in Jesus name. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Comments


bottom of page