top of page

Back home?

by M. Clifford Brunner


Back home? My brother visited us for Thanksgiving several years ago. We hugged when he came in the door, and in a sense, the “feel” of my brother became apparent again. We had wrestled growing up; fought and pushed each other. There was always contact, but that realness began to fade as time passed. Now the realness was reignited; merely because of a touch.


Think about it. A voice is no substitute for touch. A voice reminds, but a touch makes a memory real and tangible?


God’s Word tells us: “‘Look at my hands and my feet. It is I myself! Touch me and see; a ghost does not have flesh and bones, as you see I have.’” (Luke 24:39).


So it is with Jesus. If He had been but a spirit, no flesh or bones, no ability to touch us with warm flesh, how or why would we follow Him? His realness would be missing. I am glad that my brother and I could touch again. I long for the day I will do that with my eternal brother, Jesus Christ. Then I know I will really be home, back where I belong among those whoI love me most.


We pray: “Heavenly Father, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, we thank You for the promise that those who abide in Your Son receive the promise of eternal life. Help us to abide in the truth so that we will have confidence on the day that Jesus returns.. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)


Comments


Back home?

by M. Clifford Brunner


Back home? My brother visited us for Thanksgiving several years ago. We hugged when he came in the door, and in a sense, the “feel” of my brother became apparent again. We had wrestled growing up; fought and pushed each other. There was always contact, but that realness began to fade as time passed. Now the realness was reignited; merely because of a touch.


Think about it. A voice is no substitute for touch. A voice reminds, but a touch makes a memory real and tangible?


God’s Word tells us: “‘Look at my hands and my feet. It is I myself! Touch me and see; a ghost does not have flesh and bones, as you see I have.’” (Luke 24:39).


So it is with Jesus. If He had been but a spirit, no flesh or bones, no ability to touch us with warm flesh, how or why would we follow Him? His realness would be missing. I am glad that my brother and I could touch again. I long for the day I will do that with my eternal brother, Jesus Christ. Then I know I will really be home, back where I belong among those whoI love me most.


We pray: “Heavenly Father, Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, we thank You for the promise that those who abide in Your Son receive the promise of eternal life. Help us to abide in the truth so that we will have confidence on the day that Jesus returns.. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)


Comments


bottom of page