top of page

Afraid of the dark?



Afraid of the dark? As a child, I feared the dark. Mom and Dad left the door slightly ajar at night to comfort me. It wasn't the light that reassured me, but the knowledge that my parents were awake and nearby. My hope rested in them; knowing they would protect me.


Think about it. Hope. How could we live without it? Like my parents, our hopes need to be in someone not something.


God’s Word tells us: “In you, LORD my God, I put my trust. I trust in you; do not let me be put to shame, nor let my enemies triumph over me” (Psalms 25:1).


In childhood, my parents' presence comforted me in the dark. Similarly, God's presence guides us through life's uncertainties, through the day and through the night. Wealth and power offer temporary solace, but true security lies in God's constant care. Recognizing His presence behind life's signs assures us of our well-founded hope. God's hand is ever present, guarding us from fear. Afraid of the dark? Not when Jesus is our light.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, like a comforting parent in the dark, be our guiding light through life's uncertainties. Help us trust in You, not in worldly comforts. May we find reassurance in Your constant presence, knowing You protect us from fear. In Jesus name. Amen!”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


Afraid of the dark?



Afraid of the dark? As a child, I feared the dark. Mom and Dad left the door slightly ajar at night to comfort me. It wasn't the light that reassured me, but the knowledge that my parents were awake and nearby. My hope rested in them; knowing they would protect me.


Think about it. Hope. How could we live without it? Like my parents, our hopes need to be in someone not something.


God’s Word tells us: “In you, LORD my God, I put my trust. I trust in you; do not let me be put to shame, nor let my enemies triumph over me” (Psalms 25:1).


In childhood, my parents' presence comforted me in the dark. Similarly, God's presence guides us through life's uncertainties, through the day and through the night. Wealth and power offer temporary solace, but true security lies in God's constant care. Recognizing His presence behind life's signs assures us of our well-founded hope. God's hand is ever present, guarding us from fear. Afraid of the dark? Not when Jesus is our light.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, like a comforting parent in the dark, be our guiding light through life's uncertainties. Help us trust in You, not in worldly comforts. May we find reassurance in Your constant presence, knowing You protect us from fear. In Jesus name. Amen!”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

 Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34)

Comments


bottom of page