top of page

Acceptance?

(10.21.21–I'm A People –Romans 13:8


My friend, may I ask you a question? Did you know that loving our neighbor as ourself is the one debt that you and I will never be able to pay off?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



I'm married and the father of four. I'm a grandfather as well. Each of these roles involves love and devotion. Each gives me a tremendous amount of satisfaction. But, this kind of love is easy. To love those likely to love you back isn't that hard when you think of it. It's loving the rest that's a bit harder and even more satisfying in its own way.


Here's a story I ran across recently: I recently completed my college degree. The last class I had to take was Sociology and a project called "Smile." The class was asked to go out and smile at people and document their reaction. So, along with my husband, I went out to McDonald's recently. We were standing in line when 2 homeless men joined the line. The young lady at the counter asked them what they wanted. One man said, "Coffee is all, Miss." I really felt compelled to reach out to them. I smiled and asked the young lady to give me two more breakfast meals and walked to the men's table. I put the tray on the table and laid my hand on one gentleman's cold hand. He looked up at me, with tears and said, "Thank you." I leaned over and said," I didn't do this for you. God is working through me to give you hope." I started to cry as I walked away. I sat down and my husband smiled at me and said, "That's why God gave you to me; to give me hope." We held hands for a moment, and we knew that only because of the grace that we had been given, were we able to give. We're not church goers, but we're believers. That day showed me the pure light of God's sweet love. In my own way I touched the people at McDonald's and graduated with one of the biggest lessons I would ever learn: unconditional acceptance. (Author unknown.)


Did you know that loving our neighbor as ourself is the one debt that you and I will never be able to pay off? That's right! We will never be able to satisfy this debt because God asks us to be perfect in love, as was Christ. We will never measure up to His perfection. Thank God when he looks at our imperfect love He sees only Christ's "perfect" love. It's also true that you and I are obligated to keep on loving others, those who love us back and those who don't or can't, with- out end. Now, that's a job. But, you know, there is a way to do a better job of loving, especially that hard kind of love that can't or won't be returned. Adopt the "Smile" method. Make it a point today to smile at someone you don't know. A simple smile can make the difference in someone's day, perhaps even a life. Accepting others with all their faults is a real job, endless and sometimes unrewarding. And, like anything else, just getting going may be the hardest part. Thank God that something as simple as smile is all that it takes.


We pray. Heavenly Father, You tell us that there is a way to do a better job of loving, especially that hard kind of love that can't or won't be returned. Forgive us Father when we feel the only people we can love are those who will love us back. Help us by Your Spirit to smile at someone we don't know. Teach us that a simple smile can make the difference in someone's day, perhaps even a life. Accepting others with all their faults is a real job, endless and sometimes unrewarding. And, like anything else, just getting going may be the hardest part. Help us get there. Thank You Lord that something as simple as smile is all that it takes. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


Acceptance?

(10.21.21–I'm A People –Romans 13:8


My friend, may I ask you a question? Did you know that loving our neighbor as ourself is the one debt that you and I will never be able to pay off?

My friend, Life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day.

I'm M. Clifford Brunner.



I'm married and the father of four. I'm a grandfather as well. Each of these roles involves love and devotion. Each gives me a tremendous amount of satisfaction. But, this kind of love is easy. To love those likely to love you back isn't that hard when you think of it. It's loving the rest that's a bit harder and even more satisfying in its own way.


Here's a story I ran across recently: I recently completed my college degree. The last class I had to take was Sociology and a project called "Smile." The class was asked to go out and smile at people and document their reaction. So, along with my husband, I went out to McDonald's recently. We were standing in line when 2 homeless men joined the line. The young lady at the counter asked them what they wanted. One man said, "Coffee is all, Miss." I really felt compelled to reach out to them. I smiled and asked the young lady to give me two more breakfast meals and walked to the men's table. I put the tray on the table and laid my hand on one gentleman's cold hand. He looked up at me, with tears and said, "Thank you." I leaned over and said," I didn't do this for you. God is working through me to give you hope." I started to cry as I walked away. I sat down and my husband smiled at me and said, "That's why God gave you to me; to give me hope." We held hands for a moment, and we knew that only because of the grace that we had been given, were we able to give. We're not church goers, but we're believers. That day showed me the pure light of God's sweet love. In my own way I touched the people at McDonald's and graduated with one of the biggest lessons I would ever learn: unconditional acceptance. (Author unknown.)


Did you know that loving our neighbor as ourself is the one debt that you and I will never be able to pay off? That's right! We will never be able to satisfy this debt because God asks us to be perfect in love, as was Christ. We will never measure up to His perfection. Thank God when he looks at our imperfect love He sees only Christ's "perfect" love. It's also true that you and I are obligated to keep on loving others, those who love us back and those who don't or can't, with- out end. Now, that's a job. But, you know, there is a way to do a better job of loving, especially that hard kind of love that can't or won't be returned. Adopt the "Smile" method. Make it a point today to smile at someone you don't know. A simple smile can make the difference in someone's day, perhaps even a life. Accepting others with all their faults is a real job, endless and sometimes unrewarding. And, like anything else, just getting going may be the hardest part. Thank God that something as simple as smile is all that it takes.


We pray. Heavenly Father, You tell us that there is a way to do a better job of loving, especially that hard kind of love that can't or won't be returned. Forgive us Father when we feel the only people we can love are those who will love us back. Help us by Your Spirit to smile at someone we don't know. Teach us that a simple smile can make the difference in someone's day, perhaps even a life. Accepting others with all their faults is a real job, endless and sometimes unrewarding. And, like anything else, just getting going may be the hardest part. Help us get there. Thank You Lord that something as simple as smile is all that it takes. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.


If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to ”This Passing Day!”


<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.


Comments


bottom of page