top of page

Oops?


Oops? There was a time years ago, when a wheel came off my tractor’s mower deck, causing the deck to gouge into the lawn I was cutting. I decided to repair it myself with some washers and a new nut, feeling proud to avoid buying a new wheel. However, the makeshift repair failed a few days later while cutting at a cemetery I managed, leading to deck damage requiring not only a new wheel but also an expensive deck repair. It turned out I hadn’t avoided the dealer after all. 

                                                 

Think about it. I may have avoided the inevitable for the moment, but paying the piper at the end was unavoidable. The repair was poor accounting on my part. Logic fawed, I ended up with more expense than I needed to have. The dealer had no pity. Oops!


God’s Word: "I will turn my eyes away and show no pity. I will repay you for all your detestable sins. Then you will know that I am the LORD (Ezekiel:7:4).”


God’s accounting is flawless however, and His books are always balanced. We might evade the consequences of sin for a while, but ultimately, we cannot escape accountability. If you’re struggling with sin, don’t hide it behind makeshift excuses. Replace it with confession and repentance, reckoning God’s books are balanced and your life free from additional sin damage.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, we thank You for Your perfect justice and mercy. Help us face our sins honestly, avoiding excuses. Grant us the strength to confess and repent, so our lives reflect Your grace and our hearts remain in balance with Your will. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

                              Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com                                                                                                 

Comments


Oops?


Oops? There was a time years ago, when a wheel came off my tractor’s mower deck, causing the deck to gouge into the lawn I was cutting. I decided to repair it myself with some washers and a new nut, feeling proud to avoid buying a new wheel. However, the makeshift repair failed a few days later while cutting at a cemetery I managed, leading to deck damage requiring not only a new wheel but also an expensive deck repair. It turned out I hadn’t avoided the dealer after all. 

                                                 

Think about it. I may have avoided the inevitable for the moment, but paying the piper at the end was unavoidable. The repair was poor accounting on my part. Logic fawed, I ended up with more expense than I needed to have. The dealer had no pity. Oops!


God’s Word: "I will turn my eyes away and show no pity. I will repay you for all your detestable sins. Then you will know that I am the LORD (Ezekiel:7:4).”


God’s accounting is flawless however, and His books are always balanced. We might evade the consequences of sin for a while, but ultimately, we cannot escape accountability. If you’re struggling with sin, don’t hide it behind makeshift excuses. Replace it with confession and repentance, reckoning God’s books are balanced and your life free from additional sin damage.


We pray. “Heavenly Father, we thank You for Your perfect justice and mercy. Help us face our sins honestly, avoiding excuses. Grant us the strength to confess and repent, so our lives reflect Your grace and our hearts remain in balance with Your will. In Jesus name. Amen.”


“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

                              Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:34) www.thispassingday.com                                                                                                 

Comments


bottom of page