top of page

Never give up?


My friend, may I ask you a question? The fact is, do we understand that God works in mysterious ways? Does that mean He often works in ways we don’t see nor really can we understand? How can we be comfortable with that?

My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day. I’m M. Clifford Brunner?

I had to move a boulder recently that appeared very large. “I’ll need the truck to move it,” I thought. “But I can’t get a truck in there. Maybe I should just forget it?” I decided to dig around the boulder with pick, shovel and pry bar just to see what I was up against. After a few minutes of digging, however, I discovered that the rock was wide, but not deep. The more I dug the more it appeared that the rock wasn’t big at all. In the end, I was able to move it with the garden tractor and the truck would have been overkill. But, because I assumed I needed a bigger tool, I nearly gave up.

Often big problems in life, because we aren’t in touch with God’s perspective, can leave us groping for the wrong tools.

Here’s a story: “I give up!” the man shouted.” He crouched down on the steps of the office building and wept. Everyone around him kept on about their business. “He’s crazy,” one man said quietly as he nervously rushed toward the door. A young boy standing nearby walked over to the man. “Sir! I know what’s wrong!” he said. The man did not respond. The boy placed his small hand on the stranger’s shoulder. “Sir, I know what’s wrong,” the he whispered. “You said, “I give up! My Mom said that I should never give up. Whenever I feel like I want to give up, I just need to look up. God’s hand will be there to lift me up.” Slowly the man lifted his head to find the young boy standing there with his hands stretched out toward him. The man looked up and said, “All morning I prayed to God for a sign. I begged Him to give me a hand.” Looking at the young man he said, “I never expected they’d be so small; He sent me yours.” (Bob Perks)

“Don’t give up; look up!” the boy said. Why is it that when we’re unhappy we count all the little things that go wrong. But when we need help we expect God to make big things happen? The fact is, God says He works in mysterious ways. That means He often works in ways we don’t see nor really can we understand. He may even use a series of smaller events to affect a larger one. Conversely, He might use a larger event to affect a smaller. When we’re ready to throw in the towel because life just seems too difficult, we need to be reminded that God knows the real size of the problem and He never gives up. Look up! His hand is waiting to lift you up.

We pray. Heavenly Father. We count all the little things that go wrong in our lives. When we need help O Lord we expect You to make big things happen. Forgive us for our impatiences and lack of understanding Lord. The fact is, You have told us that You work in mysterious ways. That means You often works in ways we don’t see nor really understand. You may even use small events to affect larger ones. Or You might use a larger event to affect a smaller one. Because of impatience, even unbelief, we’re often ready to throw in the towel, because life just seems too difficult. Thank You for reminding us that You know the real size of the problem and You never give up. Help us to look up for trust and belief! Lift us up O Lord. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Never give up?


My friend, may I ask you a question? The fact is, do we understand that God works in mysterious ways? Does that mean He often works in ways we don’t see nor really can we understand? How can we be comfortable with that?

My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day. I’m M. Clifford Brunner?

I had to move a boulder recently that appeared very large. “I’ll need the truck to move it,” I thought. “But I can’t get a truck in there. Maybe I should just forget it?” I decided to dig around the boulder with pick, shovel and pry bar just to see what I was up against. After a few minutes of digging, however, I discovered that the rock was wide, but not deep. The more I dug the more it appeared that the rock wasn’t big at all. In the end, I was able to move it with the garden tractor and the truck would have been overkill. But, because I assumed I needed a bigger tool, I nearly gave up.

Often big problems in life, because we aren’t in touch with God’s perspective, can leave us groping for the wrong tools.

Here’s a story: “I give up!” the man shouted.” He crouched down on the steps of the office building and wept. Everyone around him kept on about their business. “He’s crazy,” one man said quietly as he nervously rushed toward the door. A young boy standing nearby walked over to the man. “Sir! I know what’s wrong!” he said. The man did not respond. The boy placed his small hand on the stranger’s shoulder. “Sir, I know what’s wrong,” the he whispered. “You said, “I give up! My Mom said that I should never give up. Whenever I feel like I want to give up, I just need to look up. God’s hand will be there to lift me up.” Slowly the man lifted his head to find the young boy standing there with his hands stretched out toward him. The man looked up and said, “All morning I prayed to God for a sign. I begged Him to give me a hand.” Looking at the young man he said, “I never expected they’d be so small; He sent me yours.” (Bob Perks)

“Don’t give up; look up!” the boy said. Why is it that when we’re unhappy we count all the little things that go wrong. But when we need help we expect God to make big things happen? The fact is, God says He works in mysterious ways. That means He often works in ways we don’t see nor really can we understand. He may even use a series of smaller events to affect a larger one. Conversely, He might use a larger event to affect a smaller. When we’re ready to throw in the towel because life just seems too difficult, we need to be reminded that God knows the real size of the problem and He never gives up. Look up! His hand is waiting to lift you up.

We pray. Heavenly Father. We count all the little things that go wrong in our lives. When we need help O Lord we expect You to make big things happen. Forgive us for our impatiences and lack of understanding Lord. The fact is, You have told us that You work in mysterious ways. That means You often works in ways we don’t see nor really understand. You may even use small events to affect larger ones. Or You might use a larger event to affect a smaller one. Because of impatience, even unbelief, we’re often ready to throw in the towel, because life just seems too difficult. Thank You for reminding us that You know the real size of the problem and You never give up. Help us to look up for trust and belief! Lift us up O Lord. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

bottom of page