top of page

Fast-forward?


My friend, may I ask you a question? Is one of the greatest tragedies of a fast-forward world that we are less available to be surprised by the spontaneous? As we sacrifice relationships on the altar of busyness, do we come to the end of the day tired but unfulfilled?

My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day. I’m M. Clifford Brunner?

One of the things that I miss most about the 1950’s and 1960’s growing up was the fact that we had a different appreciation for time. We valued it, certainly. But, time was such a different commodity then. My world growing up was a world of dinner around the table with everyone there. Fast foods hadn’t invaded the dinner menu yet. My Mom had spent hours of her time cooking. And when we watched a movie, it was on TV and there were commercial interruptions. This was the time to get up and raid the refrigerator. Time seemed more in control. There were no remote controls or fast-forwards to get us there. It was a patient walk with time in a world where there was no fast-forward.

Here’s a story from Phil Callaway: “I took my daughter, Rachel, to the swimming pool one evening. We ended up sitting in the hot tub surrounded by small children and adults. “Dad,” said Rachel, tugging on my arm, “can I have two dollars for some treats?” “Nope,” I said. “Well, can we go out for ice cream after?” I told her we couldn’t, that we had better get home. The man beside me looked my way and whispered, “You take her. If you need the money, I’ll give it to you.” Turning, I noticed that there were tears in his eyes. “I’d give just about anything to take my daughter out for ice cream tonight,” he said quietly. “She died of leukemia three years ago.” That night we enjoyed ice cream together and I prayed for the man who had lost his daughter and sat wondering what would happen if we began measuring wealth in terms of life’s small pleasures. “Did you know that I’m a millionaire?” I asked my daughter, when we lifted our heads. “Really?” She asked. “You see, this time with you right now is worth about $10,000 to me. We’re rich. So, so rich.” (Callaway, Phil.)

One of the greatest tragedies of a fast-forward world is that we are less available to be surprised by the spontaneous. As we sacrifice relationships on the altar of busyness, we come to the end of the day tired but unfulfilled. All day we often make ourselves unavailable for a kind word, a game of chess, the sound of a child’s laughter, the smell of fresh bread baking. We forget that the greatest treasures on earth are sometimes found in our own backyard. But we may not have tomorrow to hold those treasures close and to celebrate the joy they bring; not in a fast-forward world.

We pray. Heavenly Father. One of the greatest tragedies of a fast-forward world is that we are less available to be surprised by the spontaneous Lord. As we sacrifice relationships on the altar of our busyness, we come to the end of the day tired but unfulfilled. Father, this is not how we want to spend our days. All day we often make ourselves unavailable to the little things of life that You have placed around us for our enjoyment and satisfaction. We are too busy looking forward to tomorrow to even see them there. Forgive us Father for our busyness and remind us by Your Spirit that we may not have tomorrow to hold those treasures close and to celebrate the joy they bring; not in a fast-forward world.

We praise You Lord. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

Fast-forward?


My friend, may I ask you a question? Is one of the greatest tragedies of a fast-forward world that we are less available to be surprised by the spontaneous? As we sacrifice relationships on the altar of busyness, do we come to the end of the day tired but unfulfilled?

My friend, life’s a story, welcome to This Passing Day. I’m M. Clifford Brunner?

One of the things that I miss most about the 1950’s and 1960’s growing up was the fact that we had a different appreciation for time. We valued it, certainly. But, time was such a different commodity then. My world growing up was a world of dinner around the table with everyone there. Fast foods hadn’t invaded the dinner menu yet. My Mom had spent hours of her time cooking. And when we watched a movie, it was on TV and there were commercial interruptions. This was the time to get up and raid the refrigerator. Time seemed more in control. There were no remote controls or fast-forwards to get us there. It was a patient walk with time in a world where there was no fast-forward.

Here’s a story from Phil Callaway: “I took my daughter, Rachel, to the swimming pool one evening. We ended up sitting in the hot tub surrounded by small children and adults. “Dad,” said Rachel, tugging on my arm, “can I have two dollars for some treats?” “Nope,” I said. “Well, can we go out for ice cream after?” I told her we couldn’t, that we had better get home. The man beside me looked my way and whispered, “You take her. If you need the money, I’ll give it to you.” Turning, I noticed that there were tears in his eyes. “I’d give just about anything to take my daughter out for ice cream tonight,” he said quietly. “She died of leukemia three years ago.” That night we enjoyed ice cream together and I prayed for the man who had lost his daughter and sat wondering what would happen if we began measuring wealth in terms of life’s small pleasures. “Did you know that I’m a millionaire?” I asked my daughter, when we lifted our heads. “Really?” She asked. “You see, this time with you right now is worth about $10,000 to me. We’re rich. So, so rich.” (Callaway, Phil.)

One of the greatest tragedies of a fast-forward world is that we are less available to be surprised by the spontaneous. As we sacrifice relationships on the altar of busyness, we come to the end of the day tired but unfulfilled. All day we often make ourselves unavailable for a kind word, a game of chess, the sound of a child’s laughter, the smell of fresh bread baking. We forget that the greatest treasures on earth are sometimes found in our own backyard. But we may not have tomorrow to hold those treasures close and to celebrate the joy they bring; not in a fast-forward world.

We pray. Heavenly Father. One of the greatest tragedies of a fast-forward world is that we are less available to be surprised by the spontaneous Lord. As we sacrifice relationships on the altar of our busyness, we come to the end of the day tired but unfulfilled. Father, this is not how we want to spend our days. All day we often make ourselves unavailable to the little things of life that You have placed around us for our enjoyment and satisfaction. We are too busy looking forward to tomorrow to even see them there. Forgive us Father for our busyness and remind us by Your Spirit that we may not have tomorrow to hold those treasures close and to celebrate the joy they bring; not in a fast-forward world.

We praise You Lord. In Jesus name we pray. Amen!

Therefore my friend, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry for itself; each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matt 6:34) This Passing Day. May this passing day honor our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and be a blessing to you and everyone you meet. Find a stranger and say hello. Don't let another day pass without your day blessing someone else.

If you have a special prayer request, please send your request to "This Passing Day!"

<thispassingday@gmail.com> From Beech Springs, God bless you for Jesus sake.

bottom of page